Raspberry Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I really liked it, however, I will make it hotter next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
The first time I tried this recipe, I had medium success with the solidification process. The second time, no solidfication. What a disappointment. After researching other jellies, I retooled the recipe and man does this work well. 2 red peppers, ciced 14-20 jalapenos, diced 1 1/2 cups apple cider vinegar 2 cups frozen raspberries 7 cups sugar 2, 6 oz. liquid pectin envelopes Combine peppers, raspberries, sugar and vinegar in pot and bring to a boil, stirring occassionally. Simmer for 10 minutes. Add pectin and simmer for one more minute. Remove from heat and sit for 10 minutes. Ladle into the 8 oz bell jars (sterilized) and process for 10 minutes to seal. This tastes sooo good and does jelly fine. Don't strain the fun stuff out either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
5 stars is not enough! We just love this. I have several friends that wait for me to make my Jalapeno Jelly and this is such a perfect twist on that! Great gift material. We live in a residential area and grew a most beautiful black raspberry plant that is an awesome producer. I'm so delighted to find a recipe that combines our love of our raspberries with our Jalapeno peppers!! Ours turned out a grape red, sweet and spicy...I did double the Jalapeno. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarshaRuth
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Very easy recipe. Loved the taste, sweet with just a hint of bite. I used wild raspberries because that is what I had available. The color is a lovely transparent pink/red. I plan to enter it in my County Fair. It would be very easy to adjust the amount of heat by adding more or fewer jalapeno seeds in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Like other users this did not gel the first time. The second time I used a candy thermometer and cooked until the temperature of the mixture reached 220 degrees. I pulled it off the heat, waited a few minutes and then added the pectin and some lemon juice. -- also note: my other Jalapeno recipes call for liquid pectin. This resulted in a firmer set, but it is still not the same solid set as say crabapple jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
This did not gel very well at all, even though I tried to tweak the pectin. As for the sprig of mint, Like others, also didn't know what to do with it, as the recipe never mentions it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I approached this recipe by changing a few ingredients; swapped olalaberries for the raspberries, red bell pepper for the green and used serrano chiles instead of jalapeno. I didn't change any proportions and otherwise, followed the recipe to a "t". Turned out tasty and very pretty (the red bell peppers really helped keep the color nice and ruby) however, I too had problems with the set and felt the vinegar was a little too prominent. My question here is, what the heck was I supposed to do with the mint!? Although it appears in the list of ingredients, the directions don't indicate what to do with it, once you've got it. (I dropped a small sprig into each finished jar just for laughs but don't think that was the intent) Anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
It's a good start but the current recipe has to much of a vinager taste to it, and doesn't solidify. I will continue to work on it and see if I can post some changes for others who may try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
For some reason this jelly didn't set for me and I followed the recipe (it tasted pretty good though!). I was really hoping that it would turn out better. The next time I make jelly, I will probably try again. For those of you looking for an amazing jelly recipe try the "Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly" ... now that is another excellent jelly recipe (serve with cream cheese and crackers, yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTSNUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
WOW! great recipe. I hope I have some left to give as christmas gifts. I used habaneros instead of jalapenos.They gave it a great KICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States