Raspberry Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
The vinegar in this recipe is too overpowering, it tastes a lot better if you use fresh squeezed lemon juice instead and use Sure Pectin Powder for setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jefners3
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a very good reciepe. It is a little short on directions, but that happens. I followed another comment, let it hard boild for 10 minutes take off heat strain or dont strain chopped piecesand then add pectin, I did both packets boiled hard for 1 more minute, set in 30 it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I doubled the recipe on everything except for the sugar (I added 4.5 cups, add to taste), and I used 2 pouches of Bernardin liquid pectin. Boiled the fruit/sugar/vinegar for 5-10 min, removed from heat, added pectin, boiled for another few minutes. It did not seem like it was getting thicker, once I filled my jars and let it sit for approx 30 min it gelled perfectly! Will use chili peppers next time as I think that would compliment the raspberries better than the jalapenos did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
If you are having trouble getting it to set, is it possible you are using the boiling canning method? That was my problem. Then my friends mom told me to fill the hot jars with the hot jelly, turn the cans upside down. The heat will seal the jars. It has set perfectly every time since I started sealing my jars this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used strawberries instead of Rasberries and it tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ma Jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was my first time making jelly. Kindof fun to do. I tweaked the recipe a little. I combined between my canning book recipe and this recipe. It needs a lot more jalapenos than the 1/4 cup full. Next time I will do 3/4 - 1 cup of them. When it came to boiling my book said to boil hard for 10 minutes, then remove from heat, stir in pectin, then place back on burner and bring to boil for 1 more minute. My jelly turned out great, it set up within 30 mins, just wished I would of put more jalapenos in for some bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made this a # of times. It took a couple of hours to set but was wonderful. I have since changed this recipe and used blueberries instead--OH BOY!!! Just smush the blueberries a little during the cooking process and if after straining you see the litlle seeds, just use a spoon and skim them off. Easy enough because its already setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I like the spicy after taste with the sweetness of the strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I was so excited to make this jelly, however, it didn't turn out at all.. I even tried one of the other viewers customed ways because they said it finally set but mine turned out runny.. Any suggestions on how to get it to set? I would really love to try again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Strangely delicious! I used Sure Gel instead of liquid pectin and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States