Raspberry Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this recipe but i did some research on what to do to make it set better. First of all don't use liquid pectin that is one of the problems with the recipe and it not setting. Second off don't use ball pectin use sure-jell pectin. I tried both this year to see which one worked best and the sure-jell cost 50 cents more but it's worth it. It started to jell before i could get it strained and into the jars. Which is a good thing The ball pectin did not set fully yet it's only been 4 days but the sure-jell set in 20 minutes. USE SURE-JELL not Ball Pectin!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
The first time I tried this recipe, I had medium success with the solidification process. The second time, no solidfication. What a disappointment. After researching other jellies, I retooled the recipe and man does this work well. 2 red peppers, ciced 14-20 jalapenos, diced 1 1/2 cups apple cider vinegar 2 cups frozen raspberries 7 cups sugar 2, 6 oz. liquid pectin envelopes Combine peppers, raspberries, sugar and vinegar in pot and bring to a boil, stirring occassionally. Simmer for 10 minutes. Add pectin and simmer for one more minute. Remove from heat and sit for 10 minutes. Ladle into the 8 oz bell jars (sterilized) and process for 10 minutes to seal. This tastes sooo good and does jelly fine. Don't strain the fun stuff out either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I made this recipe twice, followed exact directions and it doesn't set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
5 stars is not enough! We just love this. I have several friends that wait for me to make my Jalapeno Jelly and this is such a perfect twist on that! Great gift material. We live in a residential area and grew a most beautiful black raspberry plant that is an awesome producer. I'm so delighted to find a recipe that combines our love of our raspberries with our Jalapeno peppers!! Ours turned out a grape red, sweet and spicy...I did double the Jalapeno. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is the first jelly I've ever made. It came out perfect. I used about fifteen jalapenos, 1 green pepper, two cups of frozen raspberries, a whole box of Surejell, and approximtely five cups of sugar. Wow, is it wonderful. Perfect jelly consistency, wonderfully sweet/hot flavor. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Great Jelly recipe! I love it! I made this in December and put the jars in baskets that I made up as gifts. The people who got them also loved the jelly and wanted the recipe! I did find that the jelly went a little farther than the recipe indicated... I filled three 8 oz. jars instead of just two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Like other users this did not gel the first time. The second time I used a candy thermometer and cooked until the temperature of the mixture reached 220 degrees. I pulled it off the heat, waited a few minutes and then added the pectin and some lemon juice. -- also note: my other Jalapeno recipes call for liquid pectin. This resulted in a firmer set, but it is still not the same solid set as say crabapple jelly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I approached this recipe by changing a few ingredients; swapped olalaberries for the raspberries, red bell pepper for the green and used serrano chiles instead of jalapeno. I didn't change any proportions and otherwise, followed the recipe to a "t". Turned out tasty and very pretty (the red bell peppers really helped keep the color nice and ruby) however, I too had problems with the set and felt the vinegar was a little too prominent. My question here is, what the heck was I supposed to do with the mint!? Although it appears in the list of ingredients, the directions don't indicate what to do with it, once you've got it. (I dropped a small sprig into each finished jar just for laughs but don't think that was the intent) Anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
So good!!! I made this in hopes of giving it as a gift, and it's something I will be proud to give! I used bottled jalapeno slices (rather then fresh) threw them in the food processor. Next time, I will add a few more to give it a little more heat, but the slices worked very well and were much easier to use then slicing fresh peppers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I'm giving this recipe a moderate review - it was a good concept, but the recipe seemed to be missing quite a bit of information. For instance, what is the yield? The small type said "one pint." I got 2.5 pints out of it. It was a little irritating as I had to quickly sterilize more jars. Also, the "1/3 (6 fluid oz) container of liquid pectin" was confusing as well. I ended up using 1 pouch from a 2 pouch pack of Certo. The results were very good, but the recipe really needs to be edited for clarification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greta Bakken-Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States