Raspberry Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I doubled this recipe adding 1 c blackberries ( only had 1 c of raspberries in the freezer) and an extra c of sugar. Drained the juice from the chopped peppers and did not strain. I brought to a rolling boil for 10 min., used 2 (3 oz) pkg of Ball liquid pectin, rolling boil for another minute. It came out PERFECT! Tastes luscious, looks beautiful, going to enter in the County Fair. Can't wait to give in special Christmas baskets with my other green Jalepeno jelly. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Advice to all, if you are making jalapeno jelly use only CERTO brand pectin. For some reason others will not jell correctly. USE A CANDY THERMOMETER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is the first jelly I've ever made. It came out perfect. I used about fifteen jalapenos, 1 green pepper, two cups of frozen raspberries, a whole box of Surejell, and approximtely five cups of sugar. Wow, is it wonderful. Perfect jelly consistency, wonderfully sweet/hot flavor. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d newman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Holiday Island, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Really great flavor but did not set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe is great! I used one 6oz package raspberries and 10 jalapenos, pureed, and did not strain. I cooked to 220 degrees, cooled 5 minutes, added the pectin, then cooked 5 more min. It gelled perfectly! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
not good enough to make agane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I made this recipe but i did some research on what to do to make it set better. First of all don't use liquid pectin that is one of the problems with the recipe and it not setting. Second off don't use ball pectin use sure-jell pectin. I tried both this year to see which one worked best and the sure-jell cost 50 cents more but it's worth it. It started to jell before i could get it strained and into the jars. Which is a good thing The ball pectin did not set fully yet it's only been 4 days but the sure-jell set in 20 minutes. USE SURE-JELL not Ball Pectin!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this recipe, but cut down the sugar and added raspberry jello mix along with the pectin to help gel. It worked great and had lots of compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great recipe. My husband is diabetic, so I modified recipe and used 1.5 Cups Sugar, and 1.5 Cups Splenda. Then used the low sugar pectin. Also I didn't strain the mixture. It turned out great! Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machine Gun Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I'm giving this recipe a moderate review - it was a good concept, but the recipe seemed to be missing quite a bit of information. For instance, what is the yield? The small type said "one pint." I got 2.5 pints out of it. It was a little irritating as I had to quickly sterilize more jars. Also, the "1/3 (6 fluid oz) container of liquid pectin" was confusing as well. I ended up using 1 pouch from a 2 pouch pack of Certo. The results were very good, but the recipe really needs to be edited for clarification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greta Bakken-Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States