Raspberry Fudge Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I just finished making these and they are delicious! I don't have good luck with chocolate curls, so I melted the chocolate and made chocolate hearts for Valentine's Day. I froze them to harden and set them on the frosting. They look awesome! My recommendation is to remove the brownies to a cutting board for cutting, and be sure to wipe the knife off after each cut. The fudge topping tends to gum up the knife, so this makes cutting easier and the finished result picture perfect!! Thanks for a keeper - I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Very good and very rich! I used regular choc. chips, that's what I had on hand. However, I think the miniature ones, as stated, would be better. I cut some into squares, some into triangle...My husband and his friend asked why the triangles and I said that they might be too rich for some. They both shook their heads NO! I sent some home with this friend for his family, he said - They won't make it! :) (meaning he would eat them all before he got home) Thanks for the recipe Larkspur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
For the top I did a drizzle of melted Raspberry chocolate, like Petit Fours, across the tops of the brownies. They are were so pretty. I did as was suggested and rinsed my knife between cuts, and they came out with no jagged edges. The Raspberry topping is almost framed by the dark chocolate. But, I didn't cut them in triangles. I cut them in 1/4 inch slices, 4-inches wide and then layed them on a dessert plate that I had drizzled with the melted Raspberry Chocolate. The dessert plates I used were white with pink ribbons and light and dark pink tiny roses around the outside. The presentation was stunning. Thank you, for such a beautiful dessert. This is going in my recipe file under, Impressors. Thats where I put my, "Blow your socks off" recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
VERY good! I did make a few slight changes, but that was only because I was trying to use what I had around the house. Instead of raspberry jam I used cherry preserves & it turned out very yummy. Also, I added a little extra vanilla. The only other adjustment that I made was using milk chocolate chips instead of the mini chocolate chips (again, trying to use what I had around). Very rich! Next time I may try adding a bit more preserves/jam to the mix or omit the chocolate chips in order to have a lighter brownie that showcased the fruit flavor a little more. The suggestion for wetting your knife between slices was very useful or else I would have had a mess on my hands. Thank you Larkspur for submitting such a creative & tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
These took quite a bit of time and effort, but the end result was heavenly!.. I added a little more presentation wise for Valentines Day!.. So pretty! Thanks Larks!.. Just a thought Larkspur, I may try ending in the chocolate next time so the raspberry and cream cheese is the filling instead of topping and don't hate me, but I think I'd leave out the chocolate chips and try nuts.. A lot of sweet/richness here!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I just made these & they are VERY delicious, dense, FABULOUS, superb, quite likely the-best-I've-ever-made, sad-I-made-only-a-half-batch, even-sadder-I-already-promised-to-share-this-with-several-people, though-glad-they-turned-out-so-credibly-great-that-I'm-proud-to-share (-though-still-disappointed-that-I-HAVE-TO), fabulous (oops! already used that superlative!) fudge brownies, with whisp of raspberry flavor!!!! Aaaahhhhhh.....If you're going to halve this recipe (though I think the only circumstance under which you should even think such a thing is if you only have 1 Tblsp. raspberry jam & 1/4 c. heavy cream to whip, which happened to be my circumstance!), half a recipe fits perfectly in a 9"x5.25" loaf pan, & bakes in 25-27 mins. I followed the recipe precisely, and these brownies have the dense chocolate texture of a flourless chocolate torte; they aren't 'cakey', which suits my & my family's preference. The tip about wiping the knife in between slices keeps each slice looking picture-perfect. I garnished each triangle with chocolate shavings & a raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
These are soooo good. I didn't do the chocolate curls because I'm not to good at them so I left them off. I could not decide which part was my favorite the brownie or the topping. I did use about a tablespoon extra of raspberry jam and made my own whipped cream since I didn't have any of the store bought. Cut these bigger than suggested. And I cleaned my knife after each cut as was suggested in another review. Worked great. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Wow! These are some rich, decadent and oh so good brownies! The first thing I would like to say about this recipe is, although it may seem like a long one, you won't believe how quickly it came together. I couldn't get raspberry jam/preserves here so I just subbed strawberry jam instead and I put in a generous helping of food colour to get a deep pink frosting. I generously greased my brownie pan so it slipped out easily when cooled. I then took some wax paper and lined the pan with it and dropped the brownie "brick" back into the pan, made up the fudge frosting and put it over, stuck it in the fridge and when it was time for the cream cheese frosting I just lifted the wax paper with the brownie and "hardened" fudge frosting out and I actually piped the cream cheese frosting onto my brownies. Let it rest again in the fridge and finally did the cutting. Definitely need to clean the knife in-between cuts for clean cuts as another reviewer suggested. I kept these in the fridge as soon as they were done and decided to have a slice tonight. The result is a chewy, fudgy brownie with a delicious creamy topping and of course that slight hint of strawberry (raspberry) almost cheesecake-like flavour finishing off this heavenly dessert. I got to admit, even for my sweet tooth...one little piece does go far! Thanks for sharing your recipe Larkspur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These are AWESOME! I couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These were awesome!!!!!!!!!! Very good. I thought they would be richer but they weren't, which was good. I found I didn't need to line pan with foil, I just sprayed with Pam. I've always made boxed brownies, but from now on I think I'am hooked on these. Thanks for the great recipe Larkspur!!! Oh by the way....my family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States