Raspberry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I just made these and they are SO good! I did make a couple of changes though. I am not a huge fan of straight raspberries so I used Blackberries, Raspberries, and a small pile of Cranberries. Mine is more of a Berry Crumb Cake. Also, in the crumb topping, I used 1/3 graham cracker crumbs to 2/3 flour. I did a 9x9 baking dish and 12 muffins. (I didn't want to cut the cake to taste but I couldn't wait till company came tonight.)I also made a lightly sweetened cream cheese drizzle for the top. I ate two as soon as they had cooled enough. Made these again as cupcakes and made a couple of changes. I used blueberries (fresh) this time and did 1/2 water 1/2 orange juice in the fruit compote. Although the cake was really good last time, I wanted something a little more moist and less dense. I added 1 cup of sour cream and 1/2 a package of vanilla pudding to the batter. These are so good! My husband and I each ate 2 and had to control ourselves to keep from eating more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truly Custom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This cake is amazing! It has a moist, fluffy texture and a wonderful flavor. I substituted nutmeg for the mace and skipped the almonds, because I didn't have either of them in the house. The cake tasted wonderful! I loved the raspberry layer; it provided a wonderful contrast to the cake. The topping was also perfect; it added a slight "crunch" that was so good, it is hard to eat just one piece! This is an amazing recipe; you need to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I have been making this cake for years from the Taste of Home book. This is the best cake I ever had! People go wild over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LB
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this cake by accident. I asked my wife to get me raspberries from the farmer's market she visited but later on realized that I had actually wanted her to pick up cranberries. Doh! So I searched for a recipe for raspberries and found this. It looked challenging but I tried it anyway and it came out great! A couple of pointers: 1) watch the raspberries on the heat! They burn easily; I burned two cups worth; 2) the way I got the butter and the other dry ingredients was to mix them together with my hands, maybe that's how you are supposed to do it but I don't know; 3) make the raspberries early enough so they have a chance to cool; 4) eat this warm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is a pretty cake and I loved the topping and filling. The cake itself is moist enough but I unfortunately have to agree with reviewer "squishy" that its kind of "blah," falling short in flavor. The topping and filling really hold this one up! I would definitely use the filling and topping again to recreate this cake, but would also definitely use a recipe I liked better for the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I am not a fan of the spice mace. The second time I made it I just added a dash of mace, and the cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Soooo good. Im a terrible baker and i pulled this one of wonderfully and easily. The taste was right on. I did not use almonds because i didnt have any and i dont care for nuts. I only used 1/2 the amount of mace because i wasnt sure how i felt about the spice. i thought about using the suggestion of graham cracker crumbs and didnt. Im glad I didnt the crust was perfect. At the end mine wasnt browning on top and the bottom was clearly done so i left it under the broiler for a couple minutes and it made it so crispy. I used frozen berries and used the raspberry juice instead of water. also adding milk to the top layer before covering berries makes it very easy to spread it comes out of the bowl in nice sheets. just slowly pour as you move the bowl back and forth. The raspberry seeds were irritating and next time i will try to strain them. I will make this recipe over and over next time using apple pie filling. Wonderful hot with ice cream. although i covered with tin foil after it cooled and the nice crusty top became soft that was a bummer. but this is the best baking recipe i have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angielovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Boy do I love my family!! I made this as almost as stated only I put raspberry thru a strainer to make a seedless filling. I personally hate the little seeds in my teeth. When adding the rest of cake mix to top I did add a little milk and used a spatula. The mix came off in "sheets" making easier to spread. Imagine how I felt when Hubby said this was " kickin" right up there with his all time fav mandarine orange cake. I am making another one today for my daughter to take to the lake for the 4th. I used red and black raspberries. Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I too have been making this cake for years and have given the recipe out more times than I recall. I can't believe it doesn't have more reviews... I have also made it with huckleberries, strawberries, and peaches. The filling recipe can be used for a filling for any cake, not just this one. The only thing I do different is add a bit of almond extract. This is the best cake ever, with coffee, with whipped cream, with ice cream, it is good any way. Try it, I guarantee you will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
SOOOO good. I literally just took it out of the oven about 20 minutes ago, and it is muy bueno. The cake itself is so fluffy and moist.. I didn't have any almonds or mace (used nutmeg like others) and it was still good. I also realized, when it was time to put everything in the pan that I did not have a 13x9 pan... so I used an 8x8 and here's the weird part - it all still fit into the 8x8 (granted it was overflowing somewhat at the top, but not enough to cause any problems). I still would suggest doin the 13x9 because I bet it would taste even better in thinner pieces. One last thing, serve warm with vanilla icecream and you will cream yourself. it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States