Raspberry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Boy do I love my family!! I made this as almost as stated only I put raspberry thru a strainer to make a seedless filling. I personally hate the little seeds in my teeth. When adding the rest of cake mix to top I did add a little milk and used a spatula. The mix came off in "sheets" making easier to spread. Imagine how I felt when Hubby said this was " kickin" right up there with his all time fav mandarine orange cake. I am making another one today for my daughter to take to the lake for the 4th. I used red and black raspberries. Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I too have been making this cake for years and have given the recipe out more times than I recall. I can't believe it doesn't have more reviews... I have also made it with huckleberries, strawberries, and peaches. The filling recipe can be used for a filling for any cake, not just this one. The only thing I do different is add a bit of almond extract. This is the best cake ever, with coffee, with whipped cream, with ice cream, it is good any way. Try it, I guarantee you will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I am not a fan of the spice mace. The second time I made it I just added a dash of mace, and the cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LB
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this cake by accident. I asked my wife to get me raspberries from the farmer's market she visited but later on realized that I had actually wanted her to pick up cranberries. Doh! So I searched for a recipe for raspberries and found this. It looked challenging but I tried it anyway and it came out great! A couple of pointers: 1) watch the raspberries on the heat! They burn easily; I burned two cups worth; 2) the way I got the butter and the other dry ingredients was to mix them together with my hands, maybe that's how you are supposed to do it but I don't know; 3) make the raspberries early enough so they have a chance to cool; 4) eat this warm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Flavors were very good, and the result was pretty, even though I had some issues. I couldn't get the top crust to cover very well. It ended up kind of mixing with the raspberry mix. Maybe it was too thick. Also, this is just my mistake, but I let the raspberries get too close to the side of the pan. Basically cemented during baking. But since the result was so tasty, I gave it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This cake was fabulous! The raspberry filling kept the cake fresh for days! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
D E L I C I O U S! I followed the recipe exactly, however, I did not have mace. It was still wonderful. My kids and hubby devoured it and asked for seconds. It was very moist and baking time was right on. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I have been making this cake for years from the Taste of Home book. This is the best cake I ever had! People go wild over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States