Raspberry Crumb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
a really good recipe, didnt change a thing(oh wait,exchanged nutmeg for mave-dont like it). though it was more like a raspberrry BAR than CAKE. still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This crumb cake was awesome! Its hard to find a good raspberry recipe. Ate it as a dessert, then as a breakfast, then as a snack. I used fresh raspberries (and I threw in a bit more than 2 cups). It is very light, like a crumb cake should be. Exceeded my expectations and will definately make again! I too used nutmeg rather than mace. So yummy. Excited to try it with different berries. Think I will do blueberries next! The sliced almonds were perfect. Thanks Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is a pretty cake and I loved the topping and filling. The cake itself is moist enough but I unfortunately have to agree with reviewer "squishy" that its kind of "blah," falling short in flavor. The topping and filling really hold this one up! I would definitely use the filling and topping again to recreate this cake, but would also definitely use a recipe I liked better for the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
SOOOO good. I literally just took it out of the oven about 20 minutes ago, and it is muy bueno. The cake itself is so fluffy and moist.. I didn't have any almonds or mace (used nutmeg like others) and it was still good. I also realized, when it was time to put everything in the pan that I did not have a 13x9 pan... so I used an 8x8 and here's the weird part - it all still fit into the 8x8 (granted it was overflowing somewhat at the top, but not enough to cause any problems). I still would suggest doin the 13x9 because I bet it would taste even better in thinner pieces. One last thing, serve warm with vanilla icecream and you will cream yourself. it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This cake is amazing! It has a moist, fluffy texture and a wonderful flavor. I substituted nutmeg for the mace and skipped the almonds, because I didn't have either of them in the house. The cake tasted wonderful! I loved the raspberry layer; it provided a wonderful contrast to the cake. The topping was also perfect; it added a slight "crunch" that was so good, it is hard to eat just one piece! This is an amazing recipe; you need to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I made this with peaches instead of raspberrys. It was not what I think of as a "crumb cake." Although it tasted OK..it was kind of blah. It took a family of four a week to eat it all (usually deserts are gone in a day or two). I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Soooo good. Im a terrible baker and i pulled this one of wonderfully and easily. The taste was right on. I did not use almonds because i didnt have any and i dont care for nuts. I only used 1/2 the amount of mace because i wasnt sure how i felt about the spice. i thought about using the suggestion of graham cracker crumbs and didnt. Im glad I didnt the crust was perfect. At the end mine wasnt browning on top and the bottom was clearly done so i left it under the broiler for a couple minutes and it made it so crispy. I used frozen berries and used the raspberry juice instead of water. also adding milk to the top layer before covering berries makes it very easy to spread it comes out of the bowl in nice sheets. just slowly pour as you move the bowl back and forth. The raspberry seeds were irritating and next time i will try to strain them. I will make this recipe over and over next time using apple pie filling. Wonderful hot with ice cream. although i covered with tin foil after it cooled and the nice crusty top became soft that was a bummer. but this is the best baking recipe i have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angielovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
So good. I made mine with blueberries. Made it twice actually, cause the first time around I forgot the egg and milk (don't ask). It got rave reviews BOTH times- hah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Wow! This is the single best crumb cake I have ever tasted. I am not a very good baker but much to my wonderful surprise, the cake came out of the oven in great shape. I was a little worried about the taste because I had to use 50/50 white to wheat flour (ran low on white). Also, I substitued blueberries for the rasberries (got those mixed up). It turned out yumalicious! My hard working hubby's gonna love this with ice cream. I am pretty sure I will get a great big kiss for this one! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggy the cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I just made these and they are SO good! I did make a couple of changes though. I am not a huge fan of straight raspberries so I used Blackberries, Raspberries, and a small pile of Cranberries. Mine is more of a Berry Crumb Cake. Also, in the crumb topping, I used 1/3 graham cracker crumbs to 2/3 flour. I did a 9x9 baking dish and 12 muffins. (I didn't want to cut the cake to taste but I couldn't wait till company came tonight.)I also made a lightly sweetened cream cheese drizzle for the top. I ate two as soon as they had cooled enough. Made these again as cupcakes and made a couple of changes. I used blueberries (fresh) this time and did 1/2 water 1/2 orange juice in the fruit compote. Although the cake was really good last time, I wanted something a little more moist and less dense. I added 1 cup of sour cream and 1/2 a package of vanilla pudding to the batter. These are so good! My husband and I each ate 2 and had to control ourselves to keep from eating more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Truly Custom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States