Raspberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is a terrific coffee cake. It's moist and flavorful. Love the almond extract. It took longer than an hour for mine to bake in the center when the outer crust was getting dark. It turned out fine. I used Blueberry Sauce, a recipe from AR, instead of the raspberry jam. Drizzled white icing on it made with confectioners sugar and milk. Great Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...LOVED IT! The biggest pain for me was trying to 'spread' the batter in the pan, but I just kept spraying my hand w/ cooking spray and that helped. Also, as far as trying to spread the filling over the cheese layer, I just spooned small dollops all over the top (I may have used a bit more preserves than called for b/c I didn't measure it), and that worked out great. This was not too sweet, but just right, perfect amount of cheese, raspberry and dough, IMO. This was wonderful w/ the raspberry preserves, but I can't wait to try it w/ other fruit flavors. This is a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this for Recipe Group. I made it yesterday and took it to a neighbor who has family in town, so I didn’t get to taste it. But they called this morning and said, “You’re coffee cake was AWESOME! Everyone loved it!” I guess that makes this recipe 5 stars! I had difficulty spreading the batter 2” up the sides of the pan, just couldn’t figure out a good way to do it. I ended up using an offset spatula, which seemed to work. I’d like to make this one again, so I can actually taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 11, August 2012 Yum, Yum, Yum. This coffee cake is wonderful! I made as written using my new springform pan for the first time. But.....my oven was a mess when it finished baking. I didn't know the bottom of a springform pan had a top and a bottom. I just washed the pan and popped the bottom in. Mine was in upside down and butter leaked out all over the oven. Luckily it didn't affect the outcome of the coffeecake. It was moist, looked great and cut very nicely. My family and parents loved this recipe and I will be making it again. Only next time, I will have the pan put together correctly. Thanks springfield70 for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This coffee cake was AwEsOmE! Moist, creamy and just enough sweet. I used plastic sandwich bags across my fingers when working with the dough to spread it up the sides and again I used one to hold the jam, snipped an end off and piped the jam onto the cream cheese filling. Baked up pretty and I was proud enough to bring it into work to share. This cake was very well received! Kinda like the famous one by "E" but so much better because it's fresh. I used lower fat cream cheese and sour cream with no problems. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Recipe group selection of 8/11/12. We enjoyed this, especially since I love anything raspberry. I would have liked it better if it had used ricotta instead of cream cheese because I found the cream cheese a bit heavy. I heated my preserves before adding them so spreading them was a bit easier. The next time I make this I may really emulate that commercial baker and add a touch of coconut shreds and some drizzles of white icing. Thanks, springfield 70 this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Cake turned out wonderful! I did not make the cheese part this time and I used fresh blackberry sauce that I made from blackberries in the garden. To spread the dough mixture, I sprayed a rubber spatula and just slowly spread the dough over the pan and up the sides. The sides of the cake were delicious. I baked for 40 minutes, until golden brown. Turned out wonderful! My family loves it and we'll make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Looks beautiful coming out of the oven. I made it exactly as stated, and figured the combination of flavors would make it a winner, but the bottom layer was too dense and hard. I felt it was a waste of ingredients because no one ate it after trying a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
UPDATE: I have made this several times now and wanted to share a tip for working with the sticky dough. Spoon the dough out of the processor placing clumps around in the greased springpan. Lay a piece of plastic wrap, big enough to cover the the pan and more, on the counter and spray generously with Pam. Place wrap over pan, Pam sprayed side against dough, and work the dough out flat and up the sides. The wrap will pull right off with no mess and the dough will be nicely shaped! Also, put the preserves in a baggie and warm gently in warm water. Snip a corner and squeeze the jam onto the dough in circles. Makes it easier to spread out. ORIGINAL REVIEW: Bellepepper made this for Recipe Group and recommended it to me. All I can say is, "Wow!", this was really wonderful. I made it the day before, wrapped and stored in the frig. I took it out about an hour before serving, put an almond drizzle over it (confectioner's sugar, a bit of milk and few drops of almond flavoring) and garnished with fresh raspberries around the top and and plate. I haven't, and wouldn't change a thing, other than to try different jams. This is a keeper! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Fabulous!!! I brought a slice to work for myself and everyone wondered where their slice was. I now have one in the oven to bring to work tomorrow. It is so delicious!!! The flavor combination tastes wonderful, you may need to use a bit more preserves then what is called for. I used Trader Joe's fresh raspberry preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States