Raspberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This was a great coffee cake that my boyfriend called "outstanding" and said I could sell it:). I preferred it at room temperature by far. The chilled dough seemed to feel a bit too dense for me (I did chill it slightly at the beginning, but brought it out well before I wanted to serve it).I had reduced the almond extract, but everyone loved the almond flavor so I think I will put the full amount in next time. I did not put all the topping on the cake and next time may make the bottom layer just a bit thinner. I also added a powdered sugar glaze to the cut pieces. I will definitely make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I love this coffee cake! I don't like super sweet desserts so it was perfect for me, and my husband loved it as well. It grew very nicely in the oven. I have a ton of left over jam and would try it with other flavor jams too. I didn't have almond extract or almonds so I just subbed vanilla and lemon rind in the dough and cinnamon in the crumbs. I didn't quite understand why others said it was hard to spread. I just poured it out in the pan evenly so the entire surface was covered. Did the same with the cream cheese mixture, jam and crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Legnica, Lower Silesian, Poland
Living In: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I like this recipe so much! I made my raspberry preserves from scratch and loved the outcome! I also substituted almond extract for natural raspberry extract and it tasted heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I've made this recipe many times. The cake isn't too sweet, which makes the cake. I have changed the types of fruit preserves and still have wonderful results. Working with the batter is probably the most difficult part of the recipe. A rubber spatula is my preferred tool for this. This cake is requested regularly at work or social gatherings. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Delicious! I can't get enough of the filling - I double the cream cheese filling in the recipe. I have used pie filling in place of the raspberry preserves, which works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
The filling part of this cake was good. The coffee cake part was REALLY dry. My boys wouldn't eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this recipe this morning with the intention of having it for dessert. Well... I got home from picking up my son from school and I couldn't resist the amazing smell this left in my house and couldn't wait til dessert. My son and I each had a piece and the reviews are in... this cake is amazing, 5 stars no doubt! The flavor of the almond extract paired with the raspberries along with the almond crumb topping that adds this slight crunch with ever bite you take was superb! I didn't have any trouble with the batter being too difficult to spread like other reviewers had stated. I used a spatula to spread it in my spring foam pan but I give credit to my amazing food processor for making the batter the perfect consistency! Thanks Springfield70 for sharing this great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
In the picture it has some sort of glaze on top, i feel like this would taste amazing with that. Where is the recipe for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
These were okay and time consuming. The cake part were dried out the next morning. I would eat them within the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This cake was a total flop for me. The batter is too thick to spread (time consuming). The almond flavoring overpowers the taste of the cake, I cut the cream cheese in 1/2 and was still too creamy for our liking and I also ended up baking it for another 20 minutes and the centre didn't set up nicely. I have quite a few clients that I bake for and my hubby is my tester of all new recipes that I try. His comment was " you can't serve this to anybody"....enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Horsefly, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States