Raspberry Coconut Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
As written, the recipe is " really good!" Next time i make this i will double the coconut, walnuts and chocolates. I will also use parchment paper in baking pan so i have to the out of my pan again to get the bars out at the edges. I would also add the nuts right after i place the preserves so they settle into them and don't scatter as much. These are really good though. I'm taking them over to my mother-in-law tomorrow for mothers day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe is a nice combination of flavor, but I found the drizzled chocolate cracked up when I was slicing them. I think if I make them again I'd drizzle chocolate butter icing instead of pure chocolate. They wouldn't be so messy to serve. Less raspberry filling might help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Although I love chocolate, coconut and raspberry, this was only 3 1/2 stars for me. The raspberry jam seemed to overpower the bar, as well as make it too sweet and a bit messy. These need to be cut VERY small because they are rich. I, too, melted the chocolate in a Ziploc bag in the microwave, but I also added a tiny bit of vegetable oil, as otherwise the chocolate doesn't drizzle well. I like the suggestion to add fresh raspberries, and I think with less jam and fresh fruit I would like these better. I will definitely make them again and tweak the recipe, maybe trying different flavors of jam. I had no problem with the crust, although do be sure to grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
these are lovely to look at and better to eat. Is anyone interested in getting a recipe list/book together for bars for church/community functions that ARE NOT BROWN?? I used loads of fresh raspberries the first time and put some thick jello on top. It didn't really set the fruit but it was a sensation at a funeral lunch for a church member. The 2 nd time I used jam but found it too sweet, mind you nobody else!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very yummy! It could probably use one more tablespoon of butter to keep the crust together. I made this in an 8x8 pan and came out with about 16 nice thick bars. I used 2/3 cup seedless strawberry jam instead of the raspberry and drizzled with a thick dark chocolate ganache to cut the sweetness that others have mentioned, and it was perfect! These are pretty gooey, but they hold together well enough to be eaten with your hands. The bars need to be chilled to get a cleaner cut, but the flavors are more prominent at room temperature, so I recommend leaving them out of the fridge before serving. Easy, impressive-looking dessert to take to a get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
They were so good, I could not get them off my mind for the next couple of weeks!! The combination of raspberry, coconut and graham cracker just does something incredible to my taste buds and whatever that special something is...it makes my mouth do a happy dance like no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Burn Stuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These are great! They are a bit messy, but that is my only complaint. I followed the recipe exactly and I was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Extremely sweet and extremely rich, so I'm glad I didn't use an 8x8 pan instead of a 9x13 (which I often do to make cookies thicker). These do have a lot of steps, but it's more about having the refrigerator space than the time, I guess, bc the first step is the longest and you don't have to start each step at the exact moment the recipe states. Although I thought I had white chocolate, apparently I don't, so I just topped with melted chocolate and chocolate chips. The chocolate chips make it a bit harder to cut, but oh well. I cut these after the chocolate hardened but before chilling so hopefully that will address the difficulty of cutting the bars. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These good but not great. I think a 9x13 pan is too big. The bars were very thin. I used blackberry jam which tasted good. I melted semi-sweet chocolate on the stove top and it was way too thick to drizzle so I tried thinning with cream. It was better but when I took the whisk to drizzle the chocolate it just fell on the top in clumps. I wish I would have read about the ziploc. Maybe that would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These are to DIE for! So rich and lovely! I have made these twice now, and have given out the recipe many times. People love them! They look impressive, too - someone asked me if I had gone to a bakery to get them. They do take a VERY long time to make because of having to wait for things to set and chill, so make sure that you make these a day or 2 ahead of when you need them - they are not something you can whip up the morning before a party. Just a tip - I had some trouble getting the chocolate to melt to a consistency where it would drizzle prettily. My solution - I heated a pan of water to almost boiling and then turned off the heat. I put the white and semisweet chocolates in different Ziploc bags and placed them in the water to melt. Once they were all melted, I cut off one corner of the bag and voila! Chocolate drizzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States