Raspberry Coconut Layer Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was good, but not great. The combination of chocolate and raspberry is A+, but I think the base could be improved upon. Next time I make this, I will make a lemon or lime pie base by mixing fruit juice in with the sweetened condensed milk so that there are interesting flavors in the base rather than a boring, overwhelming sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I skipped the nuts (because I don't like them) but still quite good. Very sweet so small servings are good. I had problem with melting & drizzling chocolate but figured it out eventually (I melted and put into a sandwich bag with a corner cut off). The total prep time takes a while but as long as you have time to wait between steps it's not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Got many complements when I took them to a potluck, and only managed to actually snag a very tiny piece for myself at the last minute! Extremely sweet, but okay in very small portions (what I had was enough for me). Although good, didn't make enough of an impression on me that I would spend the time to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loretak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These bars are very good, however, I thought they were too sweet, and I have the biggest sweet tooth ever! I made them a second time and I used a little less jam (I don't know exactly how much, I just used the rest of the jar from the first time I made these) and I mixed it with a bag of (thawed) frozen raspberries that were slightly mashed but there were still some whole pieces. It was much better! Not overly sweet yet not very tart. It was also nice having some real fruit in there, but it did made the bars a little bit messier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Of course I can never just follow the recipe. I added about a cup more jam, which actually turned out to be too much. Lesson learned: stick with the recommended amount of jam. Very good, but very rich too. Be sure to grab a glass of milk with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AudreyRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are sooooooooooo good! Worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
You'd have to be off your rocker not to expect these to be sweet, considering all the ingredients contain sugar, but holy pig choking fire hazard batman, I think I need a dentist. I'm sure if I was 5 I would be all about these, but the sweetness is just too much. I didn't think the flavors complimented each other too well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These bars are great!!! I have made them three times already and every time they have been a complete success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
very disappointing. these 'bars' came out to be gooey sticky globs of coconut and raspberry. the taste was unappealing and i ended up throwing the whole batch out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Very good and nice presentation. I thought it was good but my husband and co-workers loved it. My only tip would be to melt the butter in the baking pan then sprinkle the graham cracker crumbs on top. This adds ease to making and had no problems removing from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States