Raspberry Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Very good! I loved it, fAmily also,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Spectacular! Lots of compliments. After reading reviews about thinness, I doubled the recipe in a 9x13 pan and thought it was perfect that way. I also reserved some crumbles to put on top, drizzling extra chocolate on top of that. The raspberry sauce was too tart so I added sugar while cooking. Next time I will reduce sugar in the base.The sauce was not at all runny but I was short a tablespoon of orange juice(per single recipe), so maybe that helped. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I almost doubled this recipe for a 9 X 13 pan, and it was delicious. Very easy to cut and lift out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Completely perfect as is: 1"x2" bars, not too sweet (use dark chocolate), thin crunchy crust. My friend made this for a party with literally about 30 desserts on the table and this was the best of them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Would actually give it 3 1/2 stars, as it tasted all right but I found it very thin even though I used an 8 x 8 pan, and the raspberries on top grow a tough skin quite quickly. I would like to try it with blackberries though, and mess with the recipe a bit, as the basics were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was pretty good. To start off I halved the recipe, which would have made 24. I ended up with 12 bars, using an 8x8 pan which worked great. Based on other reviews, that's what I was hoping for. I wouldn't recommend sweetening the berries. The crust and the chocolate make it awfully sweet. I think the tartness from the raspberry is necessary. I added some Grand Marnier to the filling, not a lot, but next time I think I'll try it in the crust. I didn't find the crust overly crumbly (although, like I would with a pie crust, I worked it with my fingers until it looked like small crumbs). The gooey-ness of the raspberry didn't bother me, either. I will definitely make this again. Tastes great and it's very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought it was too much of the raspberry flavor. I did make mine gluten free, though, so maybe that is what messed up the total taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Everybody loved this. Added a little sugar to berries. Tried making mini tarts in mini muffin tins, didn't want to release from pan. Looked tragic but tasted great. Next time will make in a 9x9 or double crust in a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I took the advice of others and made these bars in a 9x9 pan, so the crust was a little thicker. I also formed the dough into a ball before pressing it into the pan, so the crust isn't too crumbly. Overall, they are good bars and are very simple to make. In my opinion, they could use a little more chocolate chips; maybe I'll try drizzling some melted chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These taste phenomenal but I gave them a 4 because you can't make them as written. Since other readers said they were too thin in a 9x13 I made mine in an 11x7, which I think was perfect. However, there's no way you'd get 48 servings out of them, even in a 9x13. In an 11x7 my husband and I each had dessert 3 times, so basically 6 servings. The other problem I have with the directions is step #4. If you're just supposed to sprinkle the chocolate chips and spoon the raspberry mixture on top, you get a lot of crust peeking through. I ended up just spreading it all on top like a frosting, leaving some edge of the crust showing. It looked pretty and evenly distributed the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States