Raspberry Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I almost doubled this recipe for a 9 X 13 pan, and it was delicious. Very easy to cut and lift out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Completely perfect as is: 1"x2" bars, not too sweet (use dark chocolate), thin crunchy crust. My friend made this for a party with literally about 30 desserts on the table and this was the best of them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Would actually give it 3 1/2 stars, as it tasted all right but I found it very thin even though I used an 8 x 8 pan, and the raspberries on top grow a tough skin quite quickly. I would like to try it with blackberries though, and mess with the recipe a bit, as the basics were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was pretty good. To start off I halved the recipe, which would have made 24. I ended up with 12 bars, using an 8x8 pan which worked great. Based on other reviews, that's what I was hoping for. I wouldn't recommend sweetening the berries. The crust and the chocolate make it awfully sweet. I think the tartness from the raspberry is necessary. I added some Grand Marnier to the filling, not a lot, but next time I think I'll try it in the crust. I didn't find the crust overly crumbly (although, like I would with a pie crust, I worked it with my fingers until it looked like small crumbs). The gooey-ness of the raspberry didn't bother me, either. I will definitely make this again. Tastes great and it's very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought it was too much of the raspberry flavor. I did make mine gluten free, though, so maybe that is what messed up the total taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Everybody loved this. Added a little sugar to berries. Tried making mini tarts in mini muffin tins, didn't want to release from pan. Looked tragic but tasted great. Next time will make in a 9x9 or double crust in a larger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I took the advice of others and made these bars in a 9x9 pan, so the crust was a little thicker. I also formed the dough into a ball before pressing it into the pan, so the crust isn't too crumbly. Overall, they are good bars and are very simple to make. In my opinion, they could use a little more chocolate chips; maybe I'll try drizzling some melted chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These taste phenomenal but I gave them a 4 because you can't make them as written. Since other readers said they were too thin in a 9x13 I made mine in an 11x7, which I think was perfect. However, there's no way you'd get 48 servings out of them, even in a 9x13. In an 11x7 my husband and I each had dessert 3 times, so basically 6 servings. The other problem I have with the directions is step #4. If you're just supposed to sprinkle the chocolate chips and spoon the raspberry mixture on top, you get a lot of crust peeking through. I ended up just spreading it all on top like a frosting, leaving some edge of the crust showing. It looked pretty and evenly distributed the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Has anyone else noticed that the serving size is tiny? You're supposed to divide the 13x9" pan into 48 squares? I've only ever cut that size pan into half that amount of bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanja
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Good and very versitile. I made a small tart out of it. You can also make this in a muffin pan, pulling the crust up a bit on the edges for small servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States