Raspberry Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was pretty high in fat, so I did everything I could to lighten it, and it was successful. I used Egg Beaters, Splenda Sugar Blend, and substituted half of the oil with applesauce. Even with these modifications, this bread came out melt-in-your-mouth moist and flavorful. I don't mind raspberry seeds (now blackberries, that's a different issue), so I didn't sieve them. I wanted to have some chunks of raspberries in the bread, so I just lightly mashed them and added them along with the flour. I was concerned that if I beat the raspberries with the mixer, it would totally pulverize them. Thicknik, my apologies for the changes, since I don't usually do that the first time through. I had an idea of what I wanted, and this still is a delicious bread. For others who are watching their diet as I am these days, this will give them an option. Either the way it's written or the way I prepared it, it's still a winner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
5 STAR RECIPE HERE PEOPLE! Try it for yourself! Please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Have made this many times. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delicious! Also translates perfectly into muffins, just bake for about 30 min. I only had sweetened raspberries on hand, so I used a bit less sugar. I didn't have any lemon extract--vanilla worked just fine. Folding the raspberries into the batter at the very end gave me the bigger berry chunks I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was pretty yummy!! I checked the bread at 55 min. And it was way done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Great recipe! Used fresh raspberries and added chocolate chips. Moist and delicious! I didn't have nutmeg or lemon so I just added extra cinnamon and some vanilla extract. Very versatile base recipe that can be changed and made your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Huen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Love the lemon in the background with the raspberries! I left my raspberries whole, and used frozen...it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Absolutely yummy! I actually made mine with less oil, less sugar and no lemon extract (didn't have any at home) and I must say that it was delicious so I can imagine what the full recipe will taste like. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a very moist loaf. I did not bother to strain the berries. Yes you get the crunch from the seeds but I wanted clumps of berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very delicious cake! I made this recipe as is, but added freshly grated lemon peel instead of lemon extract. The texture of the cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States