Raspberry Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was pretty high in fat, so I did everything I could to lighten it, and it was successful. I used Egg Beaters, Splenda Sugar Blend, and substituted half of the oil with applesauce. Even with these modifications, this bread came out melt-in-your-mouth moist and flavorful. I don't mind raspberry seeds (now blackberries, that's a different issue), so I didn't sieve them. I wanted to have some chunks of raspberries in the bread, so I just lightly mashed them and added them along with the flour. I was concerned that if I beat the raspberries with the mixer, it would totally pulverize them. Thicknik, my apologies for the changes, since I don't usually do that the first time through. I had an idea of what I wanted, and this still is a delicious bread. For others who are watching their diet as I am these days, this will give them an option. Either the way it's written or the way I prepared it, it's still a winner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
5 STAR RECIPE HERE PEOPLE! Try it for yourself! Please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delicious! Also translates perfectly into muffins, just bake for about 30 min. I only had sweetened raspberries on hand, so I used a bit less sugar. I didn't have any lemon extract--vanilla worked just fine. Folding the raspberries into the batter at the very end gave me the bigger berry chunks I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a very moist loaf. I did not bother to strain the berries. Yes you get the crunch from the seeds but I wanted clumps of berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Delicious! The outside was crispy and the inside super moist. I may even cook it longer next time(I already had to cook for 1Hr 10 minutes) This is such a versatile recipe can use blueberries, nuts, apple, chocolate chips.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I decided to make this recipe into muffins to take to work! I used fresh raspberries (I had got a ton for a great deal and needed to use them) and I eyeballed the spices. I tinkered with the recipe slightly. Since I had so many fresh raspberries, I used like 1 1/2 c. and just mashed them up. I didn't have any lemon extract or real lemon juice on hand so I just used like a tablespoon or so of orange juice. I used 1/3 c. oil and a splash of ginger ale (I had opened a can and figured why the hell not!) THESE WERE AMAZING! The perfect breakfast muffin! They have my house smelling so good. They're light, pretty pink, and very berry-ful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I didn't like how fattening and sugary this was, so I made a few changes. I used 3 bananas instead of 1 and completely omitted the sugar. Instead of the oil, I used apple sauce. I don't mind raspberry seeds so I didn't run the purée through a sieve. It turned out really good, even my picky 2 year old likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A big hit! Made a double batch and it disappeared! I even added a half cup of white chocolate chips that had been sitting around and tempting me! Will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I wanted a slightly healthier version so I shared equal parts milled wheat with white flour and added a half a tablespoon of flax seed meal. I also didn't have lemon extract so used vanilla, as per a reviewer's suggestion. I wish I had applesauce on hand to half the oil's place because that's just so much oil. Regardless of the kind of oil used, it really adds hundreds of thousands of calories for the whole batch. I used fresh raspberries so put in a cup instead of three-fourths. Everything else was the same and they came out so well. Really yummy, but not too distinct. I would definitely use this recipe again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very delicious cake! I made this recipe as is, but added freshly grated lemon peel instead of lemon extract. The texture of the cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States