Raspberry Almond Coffeecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
What a pretty, dainty little cake! I prepared this exactly as written, using an 8" springform pan. No need to change a thing as it is simply perfect as is. It's moist and flavorful with a just right sweetness. The raspberry filling and the topping both make this especially pretty. Hubby was going to take this to the office in the morning for his staff but, um...oh well, at least there's a big piece left for him to take for himself! Hmmm, and he always said he doesn't care for coffeecakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JAIPO
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is my favorite recipe from this site. I have made it several times. I do agree with other reviewers that it is best to double it. When I do, I use a 9 inch pan. It fills in perfectly. Though the recipe is good with frozen berries, it is BEST with fresh ones. If you do use frozen make sure to drain off as much liquid as possible to avoid a runny mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Wow. What an amazing cake. And it's super-easy too: all you need are a few bowls and a big wooden spoon; no need for your mixer. And the taste is heavenly. I skipped the glaze given in this recipe and instead came up with my own chocolate glaze: 2 ounces Belgian dark chocolate and 4 ounces Belgian milk chocolate melted in the microwave, with 1/2 cup hot whipping cream, all whisked briskly together with a fork. The combination of raspberry, almond and chocolate was heavenly. Possibly the best coffee cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This recipe was incredibly easy and went over fabulously well. Doubled the recipe and used a bundt pan - same cooking time. Roasted 1/2 of the almonds to put on top when icing. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
This was a great cake! I used almond extract instead of vanilla & raspberry yogurt instead of sour cream & it turned out wonderful. Can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
Excellent! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe. I made this twice: once for Mother's Day and for a potluck. I was asked to make it again because it was that good! The first time, the cake didn't even last a day before getting gobbled up. When making this second recipe, I used a springform pan rather than a plain 8-inch pan like I did the first time. Much easier to get the cake out of the pan, but make sure the pan is securely set because raspberry juice will drip out onto the oven floor. And make sure you have enough cooking spray in the pan so that cake will be easy to remove. The first version I made did not have glaze, and we loved it regardless. The second version I made did have glaze. I didn't care much for the glaze; it was so sweet! I think this cake stands out on its own without it! Still, your mileage may vary. I used frozen natural raspberries. They work great. But make sure they're thawed before measuring them out. And be sure to drain the juice, too. Also, in both recipes, I followed the other reviewers' advice and doubled the recipe. It was very difficult to spread out the batter into the pan the first time. The second time, I added a few tablespoons of milk, and it made quite a difference! Don't worry if you don't have enough batter to spread out on top. The almonds will cover the cake nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
YUMM...I used previous recommendations in preparation. I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 (I think doubling it would have overflowed my 8 inch cake pan), added 2 tablespoons of skim milk to wet ingredients, spread 2/3 of batter, then raspberries, then final 1/3 of batter, and omitted the frosting. I did not have sliced almonds, but I did have whole almonds, so I ground them pretty fine in a coffee grinder and sprinkled them on top, PERFECT! Really looked like a crumb top! I will definitely make this one again, moist, sweet, and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
My family raved when I made this for the Forth. It looked and tasted great garnished with some fresh raspberries and served with vanilla bean ice cream. You must double the recipe otherwise there is absolutely no way you will have enough batter. I used a nine inch cake pan and it turned out wonderfully. I also used almond extract instead of vanilla and next time I will toast the almonds before topping the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Followed others' advice: doubled batter, added milk. Turned out lovely, but it was still a little dry. I chose not to make the glaze (because that seemed too dessert-like), and instead sprinkled it with powdered sugar. Also used blackberries instead of raspberries because they looked so much better at my market. So it turns out it's a flexible recipe, but it worked better for me with 2-3 tablespoons of milk added and next time I'll probably add even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This is absolutely fabulous. It has become one of our favorite raspberry recipes. The batter is is kind of hard to spread out, but with patience it works and the results if wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States