Ras el Hanout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was really good. I used it in a lamb recipe from this website and it turned out great. I left the white pepper out bc I didn't have it on hand, but my dish didn't seem to miss it. Great combo of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Oh yes... on meat / fish / veg.... just got to be tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My husband and I both felt like the cinnamon was overwhelming in the spice mix. I'm bummed that I didn't like it more, I really wanted to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is similar to Dukkha, an Egyptian spice mix consisting of roasted brazil nuts, roasted sesame seeds, cumin seeds and coriander seeds, all ground a bit, with cinnamon, salt and ground black pepper. Dukkha is proof that we are meant to be happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great stuff, used in Lamb and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Ras el Hanout is different per region,everyone has their own blend. This one is great with the execption of the amount of cinnamon. I cut it back to 1/4 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon cardamon and 1/4 ground bay and if you really want a kick 1/2 teaspoon of chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
LOVE THIS! Will try it on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Smells wonderful! Will try it in many dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I had most of the ingredients already, so it was nice being able to make this combination. I did reduce the amount of cinnamon as someone else suggested to 1/4 tsp and (though I've never even had it before) and it was perfect to my tasing (and I love cinnamon) I think anything more would have overpowered the other spices. Also used cumin seed as I didn't have gound (or so I though- found some after!) I plan on making this spice in a big batch and give some for Xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4fit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Perfect! I used it on chicken served with green herb rice. Completely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Haycraft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

All about Cumin

Discover the spice with the deep, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States