Rapini-Walnut Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Make sure the rapini is fresh or the bitterness is intense. White beans ,drained, cuts some of the bitter. It is an aquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
i love this kind of "whatever's in the kitchen" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very simple, but I never would have thought to mix nuts and rapini... Turned out great! I think this would make a great base recipe for a pasta salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Absolutely love this! I had some rapini in my CSA box that needed using and this was perfect. I used whole wheat pasta and subbed cashews for the walnuts (what I had on hand.) I also added some onion because I needed to use that as well. I probably added more cheese than what was called for, but I feel you can never have too much cheese! An easy, quick meal that's easy to customize will always be a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Okay, I may have gone a little substitution-crazy, but the gist of the recipe was still there. Kind of. I was just using what I had on hand, so swapped rapini for gai lan, garlic for onion, and Daiya 'mozzarella' for the parmesan. I wasn't a huge fan of the walnuts (when I tried them before cooking, they weren't sweet enough for my taste), but they complemented the rest of the dish quite well. Next time I'd probably add more of the green veggies, since they were a little bit sparse here. All in all, quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I was in a rush, so didn't chop the nuts. Would strongly suggest to do this cause the bites with nuts were 10x better than without. Rapini needed some help to cut the bitterness and this did it. Used extra parm cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Used orrichette, double the garlic, made a mix of romano and parm. Delicious and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Awesome!!! This is definitely the recipe to try for rapini-beginners (it was my first attempt to cook with it) - you will be won over! Now I did tweak the recipe a bit by adding a large, diced onion into the mix with the garlic and let it caramelize a bit... the sugary, sticky onion bits are a fantastic complement to the slightly bitter rapini. I also added a healthy splash of cream towards the end (my rapini was starting to look a little dry) which made a nice 'sauce' that covered the pasta and brought the everything together. I know this is a vegetarian dish but next time I will also crumble some bacon bits on top...drooling already.... Thanks for sharing, niki!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very delicious. My boyfriend usually remarks to these kinds of dishes saying, "I don't like green stuff in my pasta" but this time he said, "I like this!" aka phenomenal. The flavors complimented each other really well and it made great left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Really simple, really yummy! Great way to use rapini. Sounded too simple....but it was excellent. My husband & daughter loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States