Ranger Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I made these cookies at work (I'm a dietary aide) and all the residents loved and raved about these cookies, I did add an extra egg and just a tiny bit more shortening... as my first batch came out flat, after that they came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG2009

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Worthington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Had little to no flavor, the texture was too unrefined/unblended. I know I shouldn't expect things to taste as good as supermarket bakery stuff, but c'mon. These were sad...and I followed the recipe aside from using only 2 cups of flour. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Yes, this is the recipe my Granny made too. She used 2 cups flour. I like unsalted butter instead of shortening. My husband likes chocolate chips added. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe really should be rewritten to reduce flour to 2 cups, which is all the flour it can take. Oatmeal could be reduced a bit too. I added 1 cup of Craisins and used 1/2 shortening, 1/2 real butter and they were delicious! My oven is very accurate, and I baked them @ 350* for 12 minutes for perfectly baked, chewy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Excellent cookies, very versatile. Just remember two cups of flour, not three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as directed and it was WAY too dry. I couldn't even pack the dough into balls by hand. I added a half cup of milk and that made the dough easier to work with. Once they were baked, I really didn't think they were all that great (they tasted like a plain oatmeal cookies with very little flavor). If I were to make these again, I would definitely cut back on the flour and maybe add something else like peanut butter or cinnamon like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I made these for my dad for Father's day as he is a big coconut fan and I'm running out of new things to make him. These had a great texture - delightfully chewy yet had a little crunch. After reading the reviews I reduced the flour to 2 cups. This makes a lot of cookies - about 7 dozen with my standard cookie scoop if I recall correctly, so you may want to halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I love Ranger cookies and hadn't made them in 15 years. Tried this recipe and they were way too dry. I can tell they have more flour than most of the recipes. I unfortunately didn't read the reviews before I started. I will make them next time with only 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I gave this a 4 due to the differences between this recipe and the one I have. I got this recipe from my grandmother. My recipe calls for just 2 cups of flour and corn flakes (instead of rice krispies). The corn flakes help to make this a chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I agree-----too much flour, great flavour though. After trying this recipe, definately will try again with 2C flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTURKO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States