Ranger Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Recipe is incorrect. It should be 2 cups of flour not 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I read the reviews on this before starting and went with two cups of flour - even reduced to that, I found the dough to be very stiff. I think next time I'll further reduce it to 1.5 cups. I added butterscotch chips and thought they were the bees knees. My mum thought they weren't sweet enough but scarfing kids say otherwise. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Yummm, just like I remember from when I was a kid. I used half butter half shortening, 1/2 c white sugar, 3/4 c brown sugar and two cups of flou like other reviewers also mentioned and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is an awesome, if misleading recipe....I changed the serving size from 18 to 36 cookies. I ended up with 100, 3 inch cookies! In the adjusted recipe for three dozen cookies, it called for 6 cups of flour! I reduced it to 4, and it came out perfect with the oats, crispy rice, coconut...I did use 1 cup of coarsely chopped nuts to replace one cup of the crispy rice...and some chocolate chips. I also used butter instead of shortening. This is a great recipe...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This recipe is wrong! I wasted a bunch of ingredients only to find that it was too DRY! It should only be one cup of flour. It was really hard to correct the problem once I saw it was too dry. Changing the flour to 2 cups may help but the cookies tasted awful. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My cookies look NOTHING like the pictures. The dough is DRY and the cookies did not melt down. It needs butter or something other than just shortening. I had these at a party and these cookies looked nothing like them. The jury is still out on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My Mom loved them! I thought they were ok. It was more of a taste preference for me. I love sugar cookies with icing! I used 1/2 cup less flour after reading the previous reviews & they turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Something missing from this recipe. Way too dry. I'd keep looking for a better version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kanata, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This recipe is way too dry. I have a Ranger Cookie Recipe I love but had loaned the book to my daughter. . . thought I'd try this one. It tasted like the ones you get at the deli, not like the homebaked ones I have always loved. I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States