Ranger Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This recipe is way too dry. I have a Ranger Cookie Recipe I love but had loaned the book to my daughter. . . thought I'd try this one. It tasted like the ones you get at the deli, not like the homebaked ones I have always loved. I wouldn't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I made these cookies at work (I'm a dietary aide) and all the residents loved and raved about these cookies, I did add an extra egg and just a tiny bit more shortening... as my first batch came out flat, after that they came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG2009

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Worthington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Had little to no flavor, the texture was too unrefined/unblended. I know I shouldn't expect things to taste as good as supermarket bakery stuff, but c'mon. These were sad...and I followed the recipe aside from using only 2 cups of flour. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Yes, this is the recipe my Granny made too. She used 2 cups flour. I like unsalted butter instead of shortening. My husband likes chocolate chips added. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe really should be rewritten to reduce flour to 2 cups, which is all the flour it can take. Oatmeal could be reduced a bit too. I added 1 cup of Craisins and used 1/2 shortening, 1/2 real butter and they were delicious! My oven is very accurate, and I baked them @ 350* for 12 minutes for perfectly baked, chewy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Excellent cookies, very versatile. Just remember two cups of flour, not three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as directed and it was WAY too dry. I couldn't even pack the dough into balls by hand. I added a half cup of milk and that made the dough easier to work with. Once they were baked, I really didn't think they were all that great (they tasted like a plain oatmeal cookies with very little flavor). If I were to make these again, I would definitely cut back on the flour and maybe add something else like peanut butter or cinnamon like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I made these for my dad for Father's day as he is a big coconut fan and I'm running out of new things to make him. These had a great texture - delightfully chewy yet had a little crunch. After reading the reviews I reduced the flour to 2 cups. This makes a lot of cookies - about 7 dozen with my standard cookie scoop if I recall correctly, so you may want to halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I love Ranger cookies and hadn't made them in 15 years. Tried this recipe and they were way too dry. I can tell they have more flour than most of the recipes. I unfortunately didn't read the reviews before I started. I will make them next time with only 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I gave this a 4 due to the differences between this recipe and the one I have. I got this recipe from my grandmother. My recipe calls for just 2 cups of flour and corn flakes (instead of rice krispies). The corn flakes help to make this a chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States