Ranger Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Absolutely LOVED them. This recipe has the fewest fat grams and is still wonderful. I used corn flakes and the crunch from them made this cookie one of my top ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I made these last year in my christmas cookie assortment and they were great once I added milk and an egg to the second batch. I am making them again this year with one less cup of flour and that will do the trick. Rave reviews from all. Trust me they are too dry if you don't reduse the flour. I sifted the flour and it was still too much. It was probably an error in typing the recipe for the web.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I cut back on the flour and added double the salt and vanilla plus added a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon. There are really wonderful cookies and bring back a great memory. Thank you Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I have a recipe for these, but mine just calls for 2 cups of flour, so that is why the 4 stars and not 5. We also like to interchange with different things like m&m's, raisins, chopped nuts, craisins, etc... Usually add 3/4 a cup of the added ingredients. Do NOT try using a mixer to blend the flour mixture to the shortening/sugar/egg mixture!!! You will burn up a mixer in no time flat! It is a very thick dough, but if made with 2 cups flour, they are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This recipe would be 4 stars if you remove 1 cup of flour. My mother has had the exact recipe since the med 1950's. but hers calls for 2 cups of flour not 3; and that makes a fairly stiff dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I thought that this recipe had wAAAAY too much dry ingredients for the amount of wet ingredients called for, but instead of following my instincts, I followed the recipe to the letter. What a mess! I added 1/2 cup more shortening, 1 more egg and a bit of milk. I also used butter flavor shortening because I like the buttery taste. If not for the error in the ingredients, I would rate these cookies as 4 stars. Now I will always check reviews before I try a new recipe. Lesson learned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
I doubled the salt and vanilla and cut the flour down to 2 1/4. These were fabulous!! They are "magic" cookies...now you see them, now you don't!! Rave reviews from all who ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE PERKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clayton, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I was looking for a ranger cookie recipe to enter i LA Country Fair, well I used this one, and I took 3rd place. IT was my first time usig this recipe, I did however add extra 1/2 cup of real butter and they turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDIKUNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
very good - make sure to use one cup less flour, or to add milk and egg like another reviewer recommended. Both "solution" take care of the dryness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This recipe was very dry when cooked as directed. However, I add an extra egg and one cup milk and they turned out much better and very chewy. Great recipe with the added ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States