Randy's Texas Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I haven't made this from this recipe, but back in the 1950's my Mom used to make this for Holidays. She didn't call it Texas Tea, she called it Tea Punch (we are Kentuckians.) It was good for a special event but I prefer regular Iced Tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
A very good iced tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I'm enjoying this tea! It's a little on the sweet side, so I would cut the sugar back next time. Great for the hot Texas summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I didn't find this too heavy. But possibly at the hottest part of the day...it just might be. I think this is a perfect breakfast drink. Something to have with some hot fresh muffins....oh wait..?? that's what I did. LOL For a breakfast drink, it had all the right stuff. The sweetness wasn't bad(I used Splenda instead of sugar) but followed it to a T. It is refreshing, lighter then I thought it would be. It did taste a bit instant...but ya know. I don't find that bad at all. My kids really liked it and that's all that matters. It will be made again. Because we really didn't find anything bad at all with the recipe. Thanks Patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was only ok. It tasted too much like an instant tea or like nestea. I drank it, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I love this recipe and have used it over and over for large summer parties. A couple of things. This tea is only as good as the ingredients you put in it. You must use good quality (not from concentrate) orange juice and real lemon juice, you cannot omit the salt and make sure the glasses are full of ice when you serve. You will be rewarded with a party tea worth serving again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Really good. Like the previous reviewer, I used Splenda instead of sugar. Nice flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Left out the sugar and used Splenda. Not bad but my husband likes straight lemon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
We did not care for this drink; which was too concentrated to be refreshing on a hot summer's day. That might be my fault, however, since I used an orange-flavored black tea, hence doubling the orange flavor. At any rate, we know now that OJ is better left out of the iced tea pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Excellent. It was fun to make it and tasted very good. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States