Ranch-Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Great as a starting point, but in my opinion this needs some work. First, I used only half the vinegar called for yet Hubs and I both thought it was still too tangy. Also, this is a creamy white dressing, so I thought white wine vinegar was a better fit than the red, of course my preference would be to leave the vinegar out altogether - there's plenty of tang in the lemon juice. I tasted this after I mixed it up and the Worcestershire was very prominent. It settled down some as the flavors had a chance to marry, but I'd still either cut back on the Worcestershire or, again, leave it out altogether. I definitely liked the additions of the chives, shallots, Dijon and celery seed, but still felt it needed an extra herb...I added fresh dill. Finally, as a salad dressing (as opposed to a vegetable dip) it was a little thick, remedied easily enough with a little more buttermilk. Once I tinkered with it to suit our tastes, Hubs and I both loved this, which we enjoyed on a tossed green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I have made this recipe before, and I loved it (as well as my friends). I found it to be a little too tart, so I added a bit of Splenda to give it a sweeter edge. I also had to add some salt to give the spices a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kellogg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
It is even good without the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I really enjoy this recipe, but it seems a bit runny. I also add some extra spices and fridge it for a bit to let it set up some. I love kicking it up and using it in a chicken pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I could not find Ranch salad dressing here in South Africa so I made this recipe as I needed it for the Anniversary Chicken 1 recipe on this website.It was supperb. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Used this recipe as a veggie dip, so I left out the buttermilk to keep it thicker. Based on other reviews, I halved the amounts of lemon juice, red wine vinegar, & worcestershire sauce. To suit our tastes, I also added 1/4 tsp dried dill weed. The end result was a delicious ranch dip! Will be making homemade ranch dressing from now on. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I love this recipe and I don't like Ranch Dressing. It makes a fabulous dip for veggies - I left out the buttermilk to use as a dip! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I agree with the other reviewers, this is way to acidic. The Worchestire sauce is also to dominant in this dressing. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A little too acidic for my taste. Reminded me of exactly what I don't like about bottled ranch dressing. Maybe leave out the vinegar and/or lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I'll never make fake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States