Ranch Style Popcorn Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
TASTY! It only took minutes to put together. I was worried the vegetable oil would make it too moist but I measured it carefully and mixed it in very thoroughly. Once the seasonings appeared that they would sprinkle, I added them to a popped bag of microwave popcorn and shook the bag. I used the whole recipe on one bag of popcorn and it seasoned it nicely. It was a new TASTY snack for tonight's ballgame that we really enjoyed. Thank you Leo M. Lalande for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
So, so good. Follwed instructions, used homemade popcorn. Good recipe does not need a thing, and lowfat as well. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is amazing .... so love it....as I eat it and type this review. Did not add the oil....really don't think it needs it. Added to a bag of Orville Redenbackers Naturals popcorn lightly salted. Added the seasoning to the bag of popped corn and shake away! Nice flavor w/o all of the calories and fat. Hubby and I love it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I quadrupled this recipe for a huge family bowl of popcorn and I used half EVOO/half melted butter instead of vegetable. I tossed the air-popped popcorn with the melted butter/EVOO, then sprinkled the seasoning over the top and tossed again. Not quite ranchy but tasty nonetheless. Next time, I'd add chives along with onion powder or Beau Monde. Great for Movie Night made a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very tasty combination of flavors, but definitely more "ranch-like" than a true ranch flavor. However it's delicious nonetheless and a great way to perk up your popcorn. I used olive oil vs. veg. oil and doubled the recipe. I would definitely make this again and maybe add some dried chives to the mix. Perfect for a low fat snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I used air-popped corn and tossed it in melted butter before adding the seasoning mix (omitted oil). Next time would leave out the pepper and maybe the salt - they overpower the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knockoutchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
i agree with the first reviewer with the taste is very "ranch like" to me anyway my bf said it tasted nothing liked ranch to him but he really liked the flavoring. He told me to make some more tomorrow night! I made a small amount of popcorn and i made the seasoning as is with the oil the spices clumped up and didn't stick to the popcorn that great. i made another batch of seasoning and left the oil out, and just sprayed the popcorn with butter spray and then tossed in the seasoning worked alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Sad to say, didn't like at all! It was very "herby" which is fine. It isn't like the Ranch packets it claims to imitate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
LOVE this! I omit the oil, as I pop on the stove and just add a little extra while popping. I added a few dashes each of chives and thyme like a previous reviewer suggested. It's so good that I'm about to make a 25 serving batch and put it in an empty herb container to sprinkle on. I figure it will be much more convenient this way since this is now a staple for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
didn't add the oil, just sprinkled it over lightly buttered popcorn. whatever you want to call it, i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Funky Popcorn

Light, airy buttered popcorn starring the aromatic flavors of the Middle East.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States