Ranch-Style Party Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This dip was fantastic! Do not omit the cottage cheese. I was concerned about the texture so I blended it smooth. Another reviewer pointed out that the recipe calls for packaged ranch-style DRESSING mix not the much saltier ranch DIP mix. That may be why some thought it too salty. Also, I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Made exactly as the recipe said. Very thick but a hit! Everyone liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Perfect as is. Don't omit the cottage cheese. It gives it body and nobody knows it is in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I love this! I made it for a birthday party and it was well liked. I served with chips and veggies - it went well with both. The flavor was great and not to spicy with the cayenne, it was just right. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I cut this recipe in half. I used SD's dry ranch dressing mix (which is also from this site), reduced fat mayonnaise, reduced fat sour cream and "Trim" cottage cheese. Because there was garlic/onion powder in the dry ranch dressing mix, I did not add the extra garlic salt or onion powder. We thought this was quite good. I liked using the cottage cheese as it was little change up from the usual nonfat plain yogurt that I usually use in my homemade lowfat ranch dip. NOTE: I did run the cottage cheese through the blender as I have three boys who have issues with chunky cottage cheese dip and it sailed right past them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I halved all the ingredients because I didn't want that much dip... but right after mixing it up, I scooped up a big bite with a chip and it was delicious! I can't wait to try it later after it has chilled and the flavors have had time to mingle. I really like the added texture from the cottage cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I love this dip and I have been making it for a long time. My suggestion is to make sure that you are using the ranch "dressing" mix and not the ranch "dip" mix. I also puree the dip because I like a more smoothe consistency. That is just a personal preference and will differ person to person. This is great with chips and veggies and anything else that someone may want to dip into ranch dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myfoursonsks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Great dip! I added about a cup of shredded cheese, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good dip. I pureed the cottage cheese in the blender for a smoother dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Warning: This makes a ton of dip and is addictive. The cottage cheese gives it a texture that is sooooo yummy (think chunks in bleu cheese dressing). I used the big container of cottage cheese 1 lb 8 oz because 8 oz was not enough. I also used a heap of the dip in mashed potatoes, very garliky and good. I used garlic powder in leiu of the garlic salt. I was worried about too much salt with the dry ranch dressing bein so salty. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Ebersohl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States