Ranch-Style Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These were good but not great. They were a bit dry (possibly because of the ranch mix). Next time I will definately be using more Mayo. Also, way too much pepper. While I was grinding it out for the teaspoon measurement I thought it was a bit much, but wanted to follow the recipe to give a real review. I would say to use about half to 1/4 of the pepper. Also, what brings out the flavor in deviled eggs is salt, definately add a little. The ranch dressing gave it a little tang but took away from the mustard flavor that I love when having these. Good recipe for something different, but if you love traditional deviled eggs, you will probably only LIKE these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I didn't have any ranch dressing mix, so I substituted 1 tablespoon of prepared mix and decreased the mayo to 3 tablespoons. I also used dijon mustard and sprinkled with paprika for a more traditional look! I'm not a big fan of mustard, but I really enjoyed them because the ranch toned down the mustard flavor. We will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I added half the amount of ranch dressing mix that the recipe called for and the flavor was still extremely strong. The flavor was too strong to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Never thought of this- as a twist on regular Deggs..I think I solved the dryness of it though-instead of using mayo and mix, I add 'Litehouse' ranch dressing. Wow, that's good (it's versatile too) add some chopped green onion and a few bacon pieces. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for another way of looking at an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
We liked them. The were definitely different from the deviled eggs we've made traditionally. I didn't have paprika so we put cayenne pepper on half of them. That was really good. Next time I'll use more mustard. A good tip is to put all your indredients for the inside of your eggs in a zip lock bag. Gives kids a chance to help because they can squish everything in the bag and then you just cut the tip off and squeeze into your eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Excellent !! The ranch is a nice twist, and I upped the ante by using a yellow horseradish mustard ... put it the fridge by reusing the egg carton and slipping the halves in each egg slot...decided I'd have a couple with lunch the next day, ONLY ONE HALF AN EGG LEFT !!! I,m assuming the elves got to them..... my husband couldn't have eaten them all !!?? Could he ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Made these for my boyfriend who is a huge fan of both ranch dressing and deviled eggs. Me, not so much for the eggs, but I really liked these and he loved them. I used the mustard that I had on hand, spicy brown, and they still turned out great. I'll be making these again, my go-to deviled egg recipe. Five stars from me! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhiannon12866

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Spa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These were really good even though I added too much ranch seasoning. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I just tried out this recipe today. I followed the recipe exactly, but I didn't like it. The taste was too bland for me. It didn't give me that "mmm" or "wow" satisfaction. I give it 1 star because the egg itself was good. I'd rather eat the hard boiled egg by itself than with this recipe's mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These were great! My family really enjoyed them. Even though I doubled the recipe, I used only 1/2 tsp of pepper and 1 tsp of ranch powder and they were just right for us. Thanks so much for a yummy new way to make an old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States