Ranch Dressing with Fresh Herbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
The use of fresh herbs and veggies instead of powders makes a BIG difference. If you're going to use powdered this and that, may as well buy a pouch of dried Hidden Valley! My Family gave a hearty round of applause on this one. They didn't think Ranch dressing could be made from scratch and I made a lighter version of this with yogurt and light sour cream! The longer it sits the better it tastes. Made this two days before we ate it since plans changed.. it was loaded with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I wanted to love this dressing; I've been making my own and still looking for a great ranch. I knew two raw shallots would be overpowering, based on past experience. But, unfortunately, just one was too much as well...all I could taste was raw shallot. I'm not sure what to do about that, but if I figure it out, I'll finally have the homemade ranch I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This dressing is fabulous...I didnt have green onions on hand so I used red..I will be making this again so nice not to have all those additives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was very tasty and simple enough to make. I had to resort to dried dill as it's the one herb I didn't plant this year. I cut back a bit on the cilantro and I'm very glad I did as it was a predominant flavor. I think the full amount would have been far too much and masked the other flavors in this dressing. This was wonderful on a fresh garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This dressing is very good and beautiful to look at as well. I added twice as much lemon juice because I like a tangier ranch, and the flavour was great. Used it last night as a dip for oven baked zucchini sticks, and I will use it tonight for garden stuffed potatoes, from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Jackpot! Hubs and I both responded favorably at the same time as this hit our mouths. A most excellent, fresh tasting dressing with a perfect balance of each of its components. Other than using equal amounts of the mayonnaise and sour cream I prepared this exactly as written. I loved the combination of herbs and I was particularly fond of the addition of the minced red pepper, which added a lot of character - in flavor, in color, and in texture. One of the best dressings I've tried from this site; one that could easily make me eat a lot more salad! I served this with a tossed salad of baby spinach, Romaine lettuce, English cucumber and sliced avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I love the fresh herbs in this recipe. No more Hidden Vally packets for me! My only complaint is that when I made the recipe, I used home-made mayonnaise and it came out very runny (probably because the home made mayo is thin). Maybe next time I'll try with store bought....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I followed this recipe exact only using reduced fat mayonnaise/sour cream--I made no other changes. I mixed this up this morning as I wanted it to have time to sit in the fridge until dinner. I served this with a veggie platter (baby carrots, sliced cucumbers, raw broccoli and plum tomatoes), it was one of the best dips we've had in a long time. I was doubtful that fresh herbs could make *that* much of a difference. BOY, was I wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Made as per the recipe, why buy bottled again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I love this recipe! I made it as a dip and not a dressing, using 3/4c sour cream and 1/2c mayo (no milk). My daughter will eat veggies dipped in ranch, so I need a healthy ranch dip. I omitted the shallot because it is so pricey and I did not want too much raw onion flavor. I also used the red, yellow and orange sweet baby peppers because I always have those on hand. I am certain I used a bit more than called for. Served it for a family gathering and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States