Ranch Dressing with Fresh Herbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I didn't put either shallots or buttermilk in. I used low fat greek yoghurt instead of the buttermilk and sour cream. It was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I didn't have buttermilk so I just used sour cream and half and half. Added more pepper and a little more lemon juice as I didn't have cilantro either. Used orange bell pepper instead of red. Used fresh chives instead of onions and shallots. I did not add salt as I added in grated asiago cheese which is usually pretty salty. The fresh chives and parsley gave it a greenish tinge, but it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Finally! A ranch dressing that doesn't resort to garlic and onion powders! Those two ingredients impart a nasty taste, so why use them when fresh garlic and fresh onions are so readily available and inexpensive? Most people like a fresh taste on their fresh salad, and this dressing delivers, in spades! The only change I made was to double the lemon juice, because upon the initial taste, I wanted a little more bite to it. But that was just how I felt on that particular day. That change was quite minor, and totally subjective. It's just about as close to a perfect ranch as you can concoct. Edited to add: For the reviewer who felt the shallot overpowered the dressing's taste, this problem can be obviated by blanching the minced shallots for about 30 seconds before adding to the mix. It will tame the sharpness of raw shallot and help it "play nice" with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Dy-na-mite! I left out the cilantro as my boyfriend thinks it tastes like soap--and it overpowers everything once he tastes it. It didn't need it though! I love adding buttermilk; aside from the great flavor it adds, it also makes the dressing "looser" and easier to toss the salad and coat it evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We loved this dressing, all the fresh ingredients certainly wakes a salad up and your taste buds. As with any homemade dressing I make up several hours prior to using so the flavors can marry. Didn't have shallots but didn't really miss them, had plenty of onion flavor from the green onions. I think it would be great as a dip or creamy topping in many recipes. I did use light mayo and sour cream to reduce the calories. Keeping this one at the top of my list for dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I love this recipe! I made it as a dip and not a dressing, using 3/4c sour cream and 1/2c mayo (no milk). My daughter will eat veggies dipped in ranch, so I need a healthy ranch dip. I omitted the shallot because it is so pricey and I did not want too much raw onion flavor. I also used the red, yellow and orange sweet baby peppers because I always have those on hand. I am certain I used a bit more than called for. Served it for a family gathering and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Made as per the recipe, why buy bottled again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I followed this recipe exact only using reduced fat mayonnaise/sour cream--I made no other changes. I mixed this up this morning as I wanted it to have time to sit in the fridge until dinner. I served this with a veggie platter (baby carrots, sliced cucumbers, raw broccoli and plum tomatoes), it was one of the best dips we've had in a long time. I was doubtful that fresh herbs could make *that* much of a difference. BOY, was I wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I love the fresh herbs in this recipe. No more Hidden Vally packets for me! My only complaint is that when I made the recipe, I used home-made mayonnaise and it came out very runny (probably because the home made mayo is thin). Maybe next time I'll try with store bought....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Jackpot! Hubs and I both responded favorably at the same time as this hit our mouths. A most excellent, fresh tasting dressing with a perfect balance of each of its components. Other than using equal amounts of the mayonnaise and sour cream I prepared this exactly as written. I loved the combination of herbs and I was particularly fond of the addition of the minced red pepper, which added a lot of character - in flavor, in color, and in texture. One of the best dressings I've tried from this site; one that could easily make me eat a lot more salad! I served this with a tossed salad of baby spinach, Romaine lettuce, English cucumber and sliced avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States