Ranch Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
So easy. We loved it! Even my husband who is a great cook! I was out of a few ingredients and wanted to lower the calories. I substituted low fat plain yogurt for sour cream, fresh parsley for dried and added extra garlic salt and onion salt. I added a third of a cup of buttermilk to thin out the consistency. This is the first time I have added a review/changes on Allrecipes.com and did so because I have benefited from others adaptations so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe several ways. I tried the original recipe (well nearly, I omitted the garlic - allergic) and then dry versions. My favorite is adding 1/4 c dry buttermilk, doubling the dill, and omitting the garlic again. I use the dry like a ranch packet for potatoes, chicken, pork, etc., and have also added some of the dry to sour cream for a veggie dip. Very good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I think this recipe is wonderful. I've been looking for the Holy Grail of ranch dressings. I have tweaked mine a bit but I won't review the actual recipe because I didn't follow it to the letter. The only initial change I made was to double the garlic. Once it chilled and the ingredients melded I found that it was a little lacking in salt, too thick, and if I used too much dressing it got bitter. I added a half pint of buttermilk and an additional teaspoon of salt which ended up being a good consistency, too salty, and still bitter. Added a spooge of Worcestershire sauce (some sugar for the bitter) and 1/2 t of ground black pepper (for the salt) and it's better but not perfect. Next time I'll make as the recipe calls for it but try the 1:1:1 ratio of sour cream, buttermilk, and mayo. I'll also not add extra garlic and will probably start with half the recommended herbs. I buy my herbs at Penzey's and they're usually very fresh. Sometimes because my spices are so fresh (I replenish all the time) they're too strong which is I think why it ended up bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shad Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Utah, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Great recipe for a basic dressing. You can easily add other spices to make new dressings/dips. Add our fave pepper sauce for a spicy tex/mex dip. Double the Dill for dill dressing (that may be good for a quick Cucumber salad). Best advice I can give, let it rest at least 30 min before you add flavors, the dry spices need to bloom and release flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
It does have all the preservatives in it because of the mayo. :) Would use greek yogurt instead of sour cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snailcarnival

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Huge hit with the wife and kids (me too :-) ). It is definitely a ranch dip...swap the sour cream for buttermilk for a salad dressing. Also, I used the spices as purely a ratio guide between the spices and upped the qty for our family's taste (about 1.5x). Excellent base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Parks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This was a great Ranch dressing! One of the best I've tried. I halved the sour cream and made up the difference with buttermilk. The buttermilk made it into a dressing instead of a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Restaurant quality. I used 1% skim buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States