Ranch Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Perfect. Used 1/2 mayo 1/2 sour cream and 1/2 heavy cream because that is what I had. Next time I will use buttermilk but heavy cream worked fine. Also used 2tsp fresh chives. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Very good. Used "soured milk instead of sour cream and halved the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
So easy we love it it goes with so many different recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Have been doing Creamy Ranch Dressing for many years. The one I make has a 1/4cup of milk in it. It is the most delicious. The consistency is not runny like the store bought type. It keeps very well for weeks. RC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I just mixed up this recipe using 1/2 cu mayo type salad dressing, 1/2 cup sour cream, and 1/4 cup reconstituted buttermilk. I added a little skim milk to get the right consistency. All other herbs I left alone. It tasted a tiny bit bland so I added a tbs lemon juice. Perfect. That's what is in it. I just checked on the ingredients for HVR seasoning mix. Here is what is in that. "Maltodextrin, Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Buttermilk Solids, Whey Solids, Garlic, Onion, Lactic Acid, Modified Food Starch, Spices, Citric Acid, Calcium Lactate, Casein, Hydroxypropyl MethylCellulose, Whole Milk Solids, Artificial Flavor, Guar Gum, Calcium Sterate. No Preservatives." My mind is made up. I like the homemade list of pronounceable ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
So easy. We loved it! Even my husband who is a great cook! I was out of a few ingredients and wanted to lower the calories. I substituted low fat plain yogurt for sour cream, fresh parsley for dried and added extra garlic salt and onion salt. I added a third of a cup of buttermilk to thin out the consistency. This is the first time I have added a review/changes on Allrecipes.com and did so because I have benefited from others adaptations so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe several ways. I tried the original recipe (well nearly, I omitted the garlic - allergic) and then dry versions. My favorite is adding 1/4 c dry buttermilk, doubling the dill, and omitting the garlic again. I use the dry like a ranch packet for potatoes, chicken, pork, etc., and have also added some of the dry to sour cream for a veggie dip. Very good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I think this recipe is wonderful. I've been looking for the Holy Grail of ranch dressings. I have tweaked mine a bit but I won't review the actual recipe because I didn't follow it to the letter. The only initial change I made was to double the garlic. Once it chilled and the ingredients melded I found that it was a little lacking in salt, too thick, and if I used too much dressing it got bitter. I added a half pint of buttermilk and an additional teaspoon of salt which ended up being a good consistency, too salty, and still bitter. Added a spooge of Worcestershire sauce (some sugar for the bitter) and 1/2 t of ground black pepper (for the salt) and it's better but not perfect. Next time I'll make as the recipe calls for it but try the 1:1:1 ratio of sour cream, buttermilk, and mayo. I'll also not add extra garlic and will probably start with half the recommended herbs. I buy my herbs at Penzey's and they're usually very fresh. Sometimes because my spices are so fresh (I replenish all the time) they're too strong which is I think why it ended up bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shad Owen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Utah, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 952) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States