Ranch Dressing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I've been looking for a simple ranch recipe, and this fit the bill. I made it with buttermilk instead of sour cream, and substituted 1 tbsp fresh herbs for the dried. A few hours after I made it, it was good. The next day, it was awesome. Definitely let it sit overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Titusville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This is a really good dressing and dip. I find that it needs more of the herbs, particularly the garlic and onion powder, for my taste, but it's excellent. Love it on salads or as a dip for veggies. It's also delicious when you toss cooked veggies (green beans, for instance) with a little of the dressing. I make this regularly, so thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
When I first made this, it was good... but I wished I had doubled the liquid part of the recipe. As it is written now, it covers about half of the cucumbers and onions.... and that's if you only used a couple cucumbers. The flavors meld into a tastier dish, if you make this, put it in the fridge and don't use it until the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I am not a fan of store bought ranch dressing, and therefore was very excited to find this recipe! I scaled down the recipe to serve 4 people, and followed the recipe exactly as it was written, but subtituted the sour cream with buttermilk. It tasted good, however I found it to be a little on the bland side. As per the scaled down recipe, I added another 1/8 teaspoon of the parsley, chives, garlic powder, and onion powder, as well as a dash more pepper. It was delicious! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I make this all the time and it's wonderful! I always have people asking me for the recipe. I was looking for a homemade version because my daughter is allergic to milk so we can't use store bought. Well, we will never use store bought again(even if my daughter outgrows her allergy)! Made as is, is great, but I normally substitute seasoned salt for salt and also add cayenne pepper to taste. I also like using fresh ground peppercorns for the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is the way I always make ranch dressing, with one modification. If you want a buttermilk "taste", add some lemon juice to the mix, which essentially turns the sour cream into buttermilk. I usually use a couple of tablespoons. This also thins out the dressing a bit and gives it a nice fresh tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Have made this for years, try adding 8oz of cream cheese, use fresh garlic, Lauray's season salt! Dill weed. Great for chips, veggies, salad, or just out of the bowl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie 2chefs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I've made this recipe many times & have (I think) perfected it. When I made it the 1st time, it was way too thick & way too dill-y. Next time I added the milk/buttermilk as suggested by reviewers, too runny. The last time I made it I added equal amounts of mayo/sour cream. Left the dill as is & doubled all the other seasonings & then added buttermilk at the end to my desired thickness. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I have been looking for a ranch dressing recipe that my husband approves of and I have found it! This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Tastes so much better than storebought, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I was making hotwings and celery and needed a dipping sauce/dressing. How clever this recipe ... no need for buttermilk! I didn't have dehydrated chives, nor sour cream. I substituted with a tiny bit of chopped red onion and full fat Greek yogurt. Tangy and full flavored. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 981) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States