Ranch Dressing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Instead of sour cream & buttermilk, I used what I had in the fridge--vanilla yogurt--and it was AWESOME with the white pepper! I also used cayenne instead of the hot pepper sauce, as it mixed in as a powder so nicely, & left out the cheese (sheesh, it's already loaded with dairy), dropping the Worcestershire b/c we cannot eat soy. OK, so I changed it a lot, and I LOVED our version on this recipe--nice bite with the cayenne & white pepper. Yum as a dip for carrots, celery, cucumbers, etc. We'll keep it as I altered it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
taste like tarter sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stoner69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Far too many dried herbs. Would be good amounts for fresh. If using dried only add about 1/3 of said amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I simplified this, just using 1 part mayo, 1 part buttermilk, chives, parsley, pepper and a dash of hot pepper sauce. My family loved this on salad. This is similar to a ranch dressing I have made for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
My family loved is ranch dressing, it's waaaaay better than the store stuff and you can make if with all organic ingredients if you want. The only thing I did different is, instead of adding all the dry herbs (that don't have very much flavor) I used about 1/4 cup of pesto, it is sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I love Ranch dressing, but am not crazy about the bottled, mass-produced stuff and have been looking for a good recipe to make at home. Unfortunately, this wasn't it. To me this did not taste anything like a Ranch dressing. I made the recipe as is and all I could taste was the Worcestershire Sauce, even after letting it sit awhile to let the flavors blend...I even tried adding more buttermilk, spices, garlic powder and onion powder and it was still way too overpowering with the taste of Worcestershire. The recipe called for 1 tablespoon of it, but I wonder if it shouldn't read as 1 teaspoon. Also, the oregano and parmesan cheese didn't seem to blend very well with the rest of the ingredients. To me it was more like a twist on Caesar dressing than Ranch dressing. Sorry, I just wasn't impressed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I liked this and it was easy to do. Best of all my husband liked it and he doesnt like buttermilk or sour cream. I also used fresh herbs as I didnt have some of them dried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This recipe is okay but a little complicated! I see that people who are used to bottled Ranch dressing are disappointed. Please read the ingredients label on your bottled dressing! Yes, you're probably eating a lot of artificial ingredients. The ABSOLUTE KEY to fabulous Ranch dressing is Buttermilk POWDER. (I learned about this from Mark Bittman at the NY Times). This can be purchased in the baking section of many supermarkets. 1 cup mayonnaise plus 1/2 cup buttermilk and 1/4 cup buttermilk powder plus salt & pepper. Put that in a jar with a tight fitting lid and and shake for 30 seconds. So simple! You can add 1/4 cup chopped fresh chives or parsley if you like. Also if you start with HOMEMADE mayonnaise which is easy to make with a mini food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I was making the Springtime Pea Salad on this site and accidentally just put in mayo rather than the ranch dressing it called for so I just thought I'd turn the may into ranch dressing using this recipe. It was good but still missing that certain "Hidden Valley" taste (which is probably just chemicals and preservatives).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was just OK. It was kinda gunky and thin in consistency. The flavor was plus or minus too. I've tried a few other ranch dressings, and those had turned out better. Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States