Ramen Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This stuff is addicting.I have some short cuts to share. I used 16oz.bag Dole Classic Cole Slaw. Toast the alomnds & sesame seeds in a saute pan (why heat the oven) Just put them both in the pan crank the heat to high and constantly stir. Has soon as they start to brown turn the heat off and coninut stiring until golden brown. 3 min tops. As for the dressing use rice wine vinegar and added 2T soy sauce. Since I used all 16oz. I needed a little more dressing. Instead of making more I used Good Seasons Asian Sesame with Ginger bottled dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
MMMMMMMM!!!!!! I love this recipe! Try toasting the Ramen noodles along with the almonds and sesame seeds. Toasting makes them a little crunchier and they don't get soggy from the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I made this to take to a potluck and it really got soggy. I would suggest NOT adding the dressing and crunchy ingredients until RIGHT BEFORE serving. Leftovers are not very good because the noodles and nuts get mushy and the dressing soaks into the slaw making it look like sauerkraut. The salad is wonderful, three stars are because the recipe should warn about the sog factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Such a versatile recipe. I have made a version of this one for the past 15 years. I agree with a previous reviewer; use rice wine vinegar instead of white vinegar. If you are fortunate enough to have a Japanese market where you live, buy the Nissin Ramen (chicken flavor). It comes in a yellow and red package and is already seasoned. This ramen makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Doubled the recipe for a crowd and it disappeared faster than any other dish on the table. I used 2-16 oz. pkgs of shredded cabbage, 3 pkgs. of Oriental flavored Ramen noodles, added about 1/4 c. soy sauce to the dressing (and thus, omitted the salt entirely), and tripled the almonds. I also substituted Splenda for the sugar since we are a family of diabetics. Great recipe. Next time I will try this as a summer main dish by adding some grilled chicken breast on top. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I've been looking for an asian-type coleslaw, because my husband doesn't like mayonnaise...and boy, did this recipe please everyone! The first run was a little too sweet for us, so I now reduce the sugar to only 1 tablespoon. Also, for the oil, I use half sesame oil and half vegetable oil; this really picks up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
AWESOME!!! We eat this all the time for picnics and at home. My kids request it!! I use olive oil and red wine vinegar. Brocollislaw is perfect for this recipe. I also use sunflower seeds instead of almonds but both are great. EVERYONE asks me for the recipe. DOUBLE DRESSING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This recipe was great and easy, my boyfriend loved it. I did substitute 1 tablespoon sesame seed oil instead of the veg. oil for flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe but I like to make it the night before so the ramen noodles get soft and then right before serving, I add the sesame seeds and almonds. Some people prefer the ramen crunchy and add it right before - it is just your preference. Definitely use rice wine vinegar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
This salad is wonderful! I've been looking for a salad recipe like this for a long time now. I love the crunchiness of the ramen noodles and the flavor of the dressing. Changes I made: I used a bag of prepared cole slaw mix to save time. I used double the dressing for an entire bag of the mix. I omitted the salt since the seasoning pack was salty enough, did not add green onion, and added sliced bits of chicken sausage. A delicious and light meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States