Ramen Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I hate to lower the score for this recipe, but I just didn't care for it. My husband liked it though after dousing it with Italian dressing. To me it was just too plain tasting, and it was too sweet. I only did 2 tbsp. sugar hoping that it wouldn't be that sweet but it was still too much for my taste. I also used toasted pine nuts instead of sunflower seeds, toasted the ramen, and added green onion. This still is missing something though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu_cupcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was good, but will let sit overnight to see if flavors intensify. Additions consisted of shredded carrots, a few slices of green pepper, a handful of almonds. toasted the almonds and ramen noodles before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
OK...I was a little skeptical about making this salad...but this is so good and easy. I had just cut up a big batch of cabbage on my mandolin yesterday because I was making Moo Shu Pork. I only needed half the cabbage and this salad was great way to use the rest of it. And the dressing is something I would use on my regular salads. My daughter will be asking me to make this all time.. In fact, this will probably be a regular meal for her when she goes off to college in a couple of months. Best to add the noodles right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Fantastic! I made this salad this morning and put it in the frig to chill until supper. Hubby ate 3/4 of it before 5:00pm! (He can be rather luke-warm on some of the stuff I make but, this one was a real hit!) My only alteration: I added mandarin oranges. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this for a camping trip. It is very much like a broccoli recipe I make. I thought it was good, but needs something added to bring more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I liked this recipe for the versatility. I used the chicken ramen. Prepackaged chopped cabbage (purple and green with carrots)added green onion and celery and black pepper.I also used 2w types of olive oil mixed together. My husband wasn't too sure about the ramen but I was. I love the crunch. Pecans also work VERY well instead of sunflower seeds. Great as a summer MEAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Good stuff, I kind of cheated though, as I just used chopped up romaine instead of cabbage. As a college student, I've got enough Ramen noodles to fill a warehouse. It's nice to have a different way to eat them. I didn't use any sunflower seeds, since I didn't have any on hand, but it tasted fine regardless. Thanks Tamera. *edit* I made this again, this time using cabbage, and I threw in those sunflower seeds too. Nice and crunchy, enjoyed it much like the first time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
We had lots of ramen noodle packages in the cupboard and needed a salad for my son's Boy Scout camp. This was very good and easy and I love the noodles crunchy so didn't add those until 30minutes prior to serving along with the sunflower seeds! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I used a bag of shredded cabbage and added in some chopped green onions, only about 1/4 cup sunflower seeds and some toasted slivered almonds. I suggest substituting rice wine vinegar and found the dressing was great with only 2 Tbsp. sugar. Just fantastic! There wasn't a shred left in the bowl after our bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Everyone loved this side dish, even the picky eaters. It is simple and easily changed by the addition of ingredients on hand. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States