Ramen Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2005
My grandmother just gave me this recipe and I absolutely love it. Her receipe uses prepackaged coleslaw mix, adds an extra 2 oz. package toasted slivered almonds, and beef flavored ramen. I've eaten this every night this week (I mix it all together right before eating). I make it with 1/2 torn up spinach leave and 1/2 slaw mix to make it a little healthier. Its really tasty with the spinach. However, if serving to guests I would probably skip the spinach b/c it doesn't look as pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Very tasty salad. Even my hubby likes it! I add extras to this salad i.e. almonds, sesame seeds, mandarin oranges, chopped green onions and cilantro. Pretty much anything goes. To make this salad into a meal, stirfry some spicy marinaded beef or chicken and serve on top of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was good, but will let sit overnight to see if flavors intensify. Additions consisted of shredded carrots, a few slices of green pepper, a handful of almonds. toasted the almonds and ramen noodles before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Yum! I usually use a bag of cole slaw or broccoli slaw and change up the vinegar (cider, balsamic, red wine) for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Great recipe. I also add 1/2 cup dried cranberries to the recipe. It makes it even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I liked this recipe for the versatility. I used the chicken ramen. Prepackaged chopped cabbage (purple and green with carrots)added green onion and celery and black pepper.I also used 2w types of olive oil mixed together. My husband wasn't too sure about the ramen but I was. I love the crunch. Pecans also work VERY well instead of sunflower seeds. Great as a summer MEAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I bought a bag of already shredded cabbage but didn't know how much to use so I used the whole bag. I think I should have used less because there wasn't enough of the dressing. Next time I'll double the dressing. Otherwise it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
It needed some tweaking, but it was a good base (I already submitted to have a custom recipe made on it). I made it double, so I used a whole head of cabbage and two packages of ramen noodles. I recommend using the Oriental flavor because that matches right. I then, instead of sunflower seeds, used sesame seeds (eyeballed it), used sliced almonds, and also added four chopped green onions. For the dressing, as someone suggested, cut the oil in half, so I left it at a 1/2 cup, used about 5 Tbsp of sugar, and then used 4 tbsp of rice vinegar and 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar, along with the seasoning packets from the soup package. It came out great and everyone loved it. The thing I didn't do, which I need to do and will do, is add salt and pepper (especially pepper) to taste. I needs that extra flavor and kick. That was added to my customized recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Oh my! This is fabulous! I used both red & green cabbage, 2 sliced green bell peppers, 1/2 thinly sliced onion, 1/2 white vinegar and 1/2 balsamic vinegar. I didn't have sunflower seeds so I doubled the amount of almonds, which I had toasted. I brought this to a baby shower and it was the first thing to go and EVERYONE wants the recipe! Thank you Tamera for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I make something very similiar-- great with leftover chix (shr/chopped) or rotisserie chix-- also use toasted almonds and sesame seeds, but sunflower sounds good too-- mix of red and green cabbage adds visual appeal-- try rice wine vinegar in place of white vinegar. I've never tried it with the seasoning pkt- use a little sugar and white pepper in the dressing instead. Great way to eat cabbage!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States