RamJam Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have GOT to remember this recipe! Surprisingly, astoundingly delicious, one of the better pieces of chicken I've ever had. With Hubs out of town I wanted something simple but special for supper and this appeared to be what I had in mind. I wasn't about to fire up the grill however. I removed the chicken breasts from the marinade, put them in a shallow pan and drizzled them with melted butter and a few good shakes of salt and pepper. I baked them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, then sprinkled them with paprika and finished them off under the broiler for a couple of minutes to give them an attractive golden-brown color. I let them rest for a few minutes and in the meantime prepared a bed of baby spinach and arugula, sliced avocado and grape tomatoes. I drizzled them with a light lemon Dijon vinaigrette, then laid the sliced chicken over the bed of greens. For added measure I then poured over some of the wonderful juices that had accumulated in the pan. Moist, tender, juicy and with outstanding flavor. I was incrediby impressed that this seemingly unremarkable marinade would prove to be so spectacular. I did use olive oil rather than vegetable oil and skipped the ginger as it doesn't move me - these were small changes that nevertheless were necessary for me and suited my tastes perfectly. This chicken was so good I can't imagine it suffered at all from being baked and not grilled, and because it turned out SO good I know I'll probably prepare them the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This marinade has a really delicious herb flavor. I pounded 4 boneless chicken breasts down to 1/2 inch thick. I used low sodium soy, olive oil instead of vegetable and powedered ginger. I let this marinate all day. I thought it would have an oriental flair, but it had more of an italian herb flavor that was wonderful and looked great on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I found this recipe about 3 years ago and have used it to feed my family as well as a 50 person BBQ. I have used it with kabobs and breasts. I use olive oil instead of the suggested vegetable oil but if you stick with the main ingredients you will be fine. MOST IMPORTANT is the longer you marinade the better!!! I prefer it to be overnight so the flavor is full and completely through the meat. you can also do with fish just don't marinade longer than 4 hours as the acids in the soy and lemon will begin to cook the fish. LOVE IT!!!! Huha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Excellent marinade! I made kabobs with chicken tenders, cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, and sliced corn cobs. I marinated for about 4 hours and then basted on the grill. I could see using this marinade for lots of things...Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2000
This was pretty good. I marinated skinless, boneless chicken breasts over night. I don't have a barbecue so I baked them in a glass dish, in the marinade, at 425 degrees for 30 min. My chicken was a tad dry. I probably should have baked 5-10 min. less. I think this would've tasted better if I'd had a barbecue to use. The recipe does not make much marinade and I barely had enough to cover 2 chicken breasts. The lemon flavor really came through. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
BEST ever! I have made this a few times now, and it is always requested when we have cook-outs. You do have to watch the soy sauce though, for salt content. You certainly don't want to add more salt to the recipe. Totally yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
My famly loved this recipe there were no left overs. I let it marinate over night, was very tender, juicy and lots of flavor. Will defintly make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
HOLY MOLY!! My family loves chicken, but I've been running out of new ideas of how to make it. We planned a BBQ this past weekend and I tried this since it got such great reviews and WOW!! Everyone loved it! I was hoping there would be leftovers so I could munch on it myself for the next few days, but no way. Everyone gobbled it up like they haven't eaten for months! Guess I'll have to make another batch! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I found this recipe to have a nice flavour however it was too salty. I marinated the chicken for 24 hours so next time I will either marinate it for 12 hours only or reduce the amount of soy sauce and increase the wine & lemon juice. It has potential to be great but isn't there yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
i never find good marinade recipes (or store-bought!), so i give this 5 stars. it's great! next time i'll add more ginger/less soy to see what happens, because i think you could really experiment with this. i'll also double the recipe because i only used two pounds of chicken and had barely enough marinade. i grilled the chicken on skewers with pineapple chunks and it was perfect. the chicken stays really tender for some reason, even if it's crisp outside. served with goya red beans and rice (substitite coconut milk for half of the water it calls for)and peas. a keeper! would be good with beef too, i'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEY HEY MAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramjam Chicken

A 5-star white wine and spice marinade that’s perfect for grilled chicken.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States