Rajas Poblanas (Poblano Strips) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This recipe was delicious. My boyfriend couldn't get enough of it. I added in a jalapeno to make it spicy and have added chicken strips to turn it a one-dish meal served with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was wonderful, you'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Good solid Mexican dish, reminiscent of rajas tamales.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Boy, oh, boy - this was the perfect recipe. I am newly married to a Mexican and although I am of Mexican heritage, I don't know much about Latin cuisine. But to my advantage, I love to eat and explore. Last weekend, I ate tamales de rajas. I loved this and this made me think. Although, I didn't want to attempt tamales, I wanted to incorporate rajas into my cooking. I found this recipe and to make empanadas. I used the same basic recipe without adding corn. I made the empandada dough added a chuck of Queso Fresco and the rajas to the center and processed with traditional emapanadas. My husband loved this. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us. Because of this recipe, my husband will be taking this to his co-workers tomorrow to "show off" my cooking skills. AR is my secret - you make me look good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great. I did what I always do with my Mexican recipes, and added 1 smoked poblano in adobo, and some cilantro. Love it. Next time, I will add some pepperjack cheese and reduce the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I have an abundance of poblano peppers in my garden (a veggie we are pretty new to), so I was looking for some new ways to eat them when I came across this recipe. Our entire family LOVED it!!! We just finished eating, and I already have requests for it again. My husband raved about it, something he almost never does, even about his favorite dishes. This dish is not too hot, something I appreciated. The corn balances the flavor of the peppers very nicely, and the sauce really cools down the hotness of the peppers. I *almost* made this exact to the recipe...there were a couple slight changes. First, I couldn't find Mexican crema, so I made my own (1 part sour cream to 4 parts light cream). Also, I only used about half the called for amount of cream cheese. It was perfect. I think (for us) the full amount would have been too much. We served this as a topping over chicken breasts that were salted, peppered, and cooked in a skillet, in butter and garlic. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaJuju

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I had purchased some Poblanos b/c they were on sale and wanted to do something different with them. I was just thinking "dip" when I made it, but after I made it (it was thicker than I expected) it hit me to add some chicken and made some enchiladas! I also added some jalapenos for some heat (Poblanos don't have "heat") and some SW seasoning. I made a simple cream sauce (using the Poblanos, chopped) topped it with some cheese and it was FANTASTIC!! Great for something different! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This are good! But my poblanos were not spicy at all! :( If you want them spicy you might want to try adding a couple serranos when roasting the chile, didn't use the griddle just put them under the broiler for couple min. just turn them over half way, I only used 1/4 of a cup of cream cheese in my opinion I don't think it needs the whole package unless you want them really creamy.Thanks Gema!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. It came out as a gwampy mess for a side dish. As a dip, fair. Didn't have much flavor. I think as a side dish, it would be very good just using the crema and not the cream cheese. As for a dip, one star is too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogodigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Photo by Delgado Fam.
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This dish was great! I followed the recipe exactly the way it is and I was so happy with the results. The corn was great in there too. It was my first time making rajas and my husband said they were delish! I felt so proud of myself. Serve with a side of beans and warm torillas for a full dinner. Provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delgado Fam.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States