Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I felt there was too much dressing in this salad. Still good, but it was more like yogurt and sour cream with veggies rather than veggies with yogurt and sour cream. Next time I will cut the dressing by either a third or a half and double the spices. It did do it's job as a cooling agent after the Chickpea Curry (found on this site). It also accompanied Chicken Makhani (again, from this site) and basmati rice. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Since I've been preparing Indian food since 1971 when I first tasted it at an Indian woman's birthday, I tried this recipe as a variation to the traditional one I've always used. Riata is meant to be more of a condiment to accompany the spicy dishes and I found the garlic, tomato and sour cream a drawback to this dish. It was no longer riata and the garlic is a no-no. A little fresh cilantro added much to the dish and I will continue to make it that way now. This is a very enjoyable and refreshing dish and my whole family loved it (with the changes). I'm always looking for new ideas and the basic recipe was appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This is a new favorite in our house. We always make this with Tandoori Chicken II and the Chickpea Curry (both recipes on this site). It's QUICK, EASY, and ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Since reading this recipe, I have done some research on "raitas". In my Western way of thinking they are meant to be a cooling garnish to counterbalance spicy Indian dishes. They are made of whole-milk yogurt and chopped veggies or fruits, and seasoned with various herbs. That being said, when I made this I decreased both non-fat yogurt and low-fat sour cream by 1/3. Increased the spices by 50 per-cent, and threw in some dill weed. Used garlic powder instead of mashing garlic cloves. It turned out very well. My only problem was that the "Grilled Chicken Thighs Tandoori" (on this site) was not spicy enough to warrant raita. Good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This is agreat recipe. Thank you Katherine. My whole family loves it including my 11 year old son. I amke it every time I make chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Good flavor but nothing special. I got bored of it each meal, even when only using it as a side dish. But seems like a nice way to get rid of extra cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
To each their own taste I guess. I personally think the garlic suited this salad. It reminded me of Tzatziki, only not as good. It seemed to lack something... more garlic or spice? It was OK, but I won't be making this dish again. Thanks for posting, I already have ideas from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Yum! i love this but i leave out the tomatoes. Goes wonderfully on Gyros. If you can get greek yogurt at a specialty store it is even better; you can leave out the sour cream altogether. With regular plain yogurt, follow recipe (add the sour cream). It seems some people don't understand this is not a salad or side dish, it goes on top of other things (gyros, curry chicken, etc) That is maybe why they didn't like it. It's not something you really would eat by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I followed the advice of another rater and omitted the garlic and sour cream, added fresh cilantro and added a couple of Tbs. of milk to thin it out. A definite keeper! This goes really well with the chicken tikka masala recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Very good. I agree with not adding garlic and adding only a little bit of fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States