Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Wonderful flavor.......I left out the sour cream and used fat-free yogurt. Grating the cucumber was a great idea! Served with chick pea curry from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My whole family and I loved this. My picky 12 year old daughter finished off the leftovers and always asks for this. I made it for an Indian themed night but I make it just for regular meals now. Flavorful and oh so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Made this without sour cream or garlic, and with cilantro and green onion. Good with and without the tomato, and makes my standard "chuck stuff from the fridge into a pot with some curry powder and garam masala" curry much more interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
If you're making this to accompany Indian food OMIT the sour cream. If you don't want to spend the extra money to buy seedless cucumbers it's terribly easy to remove the seeds when you slice them lengthwise and use a serrated grapefruit spoon to get rid of the seeds. Then I reccommend grating the cucumber on a cheese grater into a bowl to catch the juices and adding sour cream to that. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMKHERM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I didn't like the cumin taste to this dish. It didn't seem like raita to me. I substitute 2 tsp each of dill and crushed mint. One or the other would probably work. I also only use 3/4 of a seedless cucumber. Love the recipe with these substitutions and I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This recipe was good after I changed several components. First I just used the full fat plain yogurt and left out the sour cream. Next, I use persian cucumbers so there is no need to seed. Also, it is best if you chop the tomato and cucumber into tiny, tiny peices rather than leaving large chunks. I leave out the garlic and 1/2 the amount of cumin. I also add some water to give it a thinner consistency which is closer to what you would get at an indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Simple and good with ANY spicy eastern dish to cool your palet. It also goes well with Greek dishes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
NOT BAD BUT KINDA BLAND. I THINK NEXT TIME I WILL DOUBLE THE SPICES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Great flavor! Next time I would use shredded vegetable pieces insted of chunks. Also, the recipe calls for way too much cucumber -- use less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Simple, Fresh and Delicious. I just used cucumbers. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States