Raisin and Spice Brown Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This dish was very tasty. I used a little less cumin and coriander because I thought it sounded like a lot. I served it with a roasted chicken and gravy, and broccoli. I saved this to my recipe box and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I used ten minute brown rice, worked well! added turmeric, cayenne pepper and nutmeg along with the original recipe. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
The best rice dish I've ever had ! Like another reviewer suggested I used walnuts instead of celery. I also used Grapeseed Oil instead of olive oil. I also left butter out. This will be in my starting rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
The spices and the flavors throughout the dish are so satisfying. This is a great dish for an everyday meal or an elegant dinner for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I read a negative review (the only one I saw) of this recipe that began "I didn't follow the recipe exactly and then continued on to express disappointment. Gee, wonder why? I was looking for something to pair with grilled pork chops, and I didn't want to do apples, because they're just too obvious. This is the perfect blend of savory and sweet, and worked beautifully! I'd suggest something nutty -- maybe some pistachios or almonds... I actually topped it with sesame seeds, and that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Deliciously sweet way to prepare rice. I served with the teriyaki rib eye recipe from this site and they complemented each other very well. I'm not a big fan of cumin, so I used curry instead. Perfect dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
SOOO GOOOOD!!! Everyone loved this one. I will save & make again. I added more ginger & garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
We enjoyed this brown rice recipe as our main dish. I would say it serves 4 if it is the main entree. I omitted the butter in cooking the rice as we are trying to eat healthy and plant based. I added more celery as other reviewers recommended. It was a tasty dish along with our favorite kale salad. Hint for fresh ginger. Mine usually goes bad before I get around to using it until I decided to freeze it. Peel the fresh ginger, and cut into chunks about 1-1/2 to 2 inches long and freeze in a plastic bag. When you need it, take it out frozen and use your microplaner to shred it....so easy. Make a larger pile than you might think, as it melts down as it thaws. This way I always have ginger on hand and ready to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was a hit! Good flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The flavours in the rice pilaf is great! definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States