Raisin Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My family and I love them easy and so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are SOOO good!!! I listened to a previous review and doubled the sugar and raisens, I was worried that it would be too sweet but it wasn't, it was just perfect! The dough is a bit hard to work at first, especially when adding in the raisens but just keep pushing through because these turn out great!! Also, I found that I had to bake these more like 25 min instead of what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Simply Delicious! Better than the other tea biscuit recipe I tried on this site. I also added more sugar, roughly 1/4 cup because I like it sweet. I also used 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup cream, and I used slightly less flour than the recipe called for because I ran out. I split the batter up to make three different flavours: chocolate chip, cinnamon & raisin and raspberry. This is the first time I've tried cooking with frozen berries and It turned out quite messy but delicious. These turned out very moist, not dry at all. I will definitely be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These were great! Taste was spot on and couldn't be quicker or easier to make. Would be almost exactly like a Hardee's raisin biscuit with a glaze on top. Will definitely be in the rotation for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The original recipe was for lactose free biscuits. In order to do this I used vanilla soy milk or almond milk. I also use Fleishmann's margarine as it is parve. I also used dried cranberries in place of the raisins for this batch. YUM! On the days where lactose is not an issue - I have also tried using buttermilk and found it to work very, very well! **********8/15/10 -Made these in my new biscuit cast iron pan - really easy! I preheated the pan and when the dough was ready I skipped the rolling stage and simply scooped about 1/2 cup of batter into each of the little pans. They baked nicely and in a uniform size AND without all the extra work of rolling them out, getting a biscuit cutter, re-rolling scraps and lessened the clean up which was a big bonus. I did pat the dough down to make the tops smoother and topped with cinnamon sugar - no egg wash this time. I am very happy with the results so if you have a scone pan, large capacity muffin pan or a cast iron biscuit pan - give it a try! ****Please note- this recipe is intended to be "lightly" sweet. It is to compliment your favorite toppings such as lemon curd, cinnamon sugar or jam. If you want them sweet, then you will need to add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup sugar. This will also make the biscuit heavier in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow. I reviewed these yesterday but my review is gone. I will try again. I made these with the extra raisins and sugar mentioned in Jillian's review and they were delicious! I used half butter and half 'smart balance' cuz it has some health benefits and I could not be more pleased with the results. Will definitely make again and this was so easy I am inspired to try making plain biscuits too. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
These were really great. My husband always likes something to have with his coffee each morning and these were perfect. You can adjust the sugar to your own preference for sweetness, change flour to whole wheat and add cinnamon, etc for additional flavors. I soak my raisins in orange juice that I warn in the microwave to instill a little extra flavor into the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Oh my, these are some of the best tea biscuits ever and being half English I know my tea biscuits! I am so happy to be the first to rate this recipe. These come very close to my Grandmother's! I used a full cup of raisins and doubled the amount of sugar because I like my tea biscuits a little on the sweet side. I also used half and half vs. milk. After I cut the biscuits, I let them set for 30 minutes to let the baking powder "react" in order to get them big and fluffy. After I did the egg wash, I topped them with a bit of turbinado sugar before popping them in the oven. These came out moist, light, fluffy, and simply delicious - perfect with a cup of tea! I have also made these substituting the raisins with miniature chocolate chips or dried cranberries. Thanks What's for dinner, mom? for a great recipe - my Mom (Nancy) requested these while she was in the hospital and I was so happy to have been able to make them for her one last time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States