Raisin Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These were pretty good. The base dough had just the right amount of sweetness with the 3 Tblsp. of sugar. I was asked to find a recipe for blueberry biscuits. I couldn't find one and so I decided to use this one and add blueberries. I did the same amount of frozen blueberries, as raisins, and soaked them in warm water and dried them on a paper towel. To finish the biscuits, I drizzled them with a glaze: 1 cup confectioners sugar, 1.5 Tblsp. of milk, and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla from another recipe. I got 12 very generous sized biscuits from the recipe. My tweaks were fine, but honestly I think I would have just liked the soaked raisins with a little cinnamon and some powdered sugar on top, as depicted. Mine were a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Saw raisin tea biscuits in store today, and being a baker I hate to pay the price in supermarket. Came home and saw this recipe and read reviews, so I used a cup raisins and 1/4 cup sugar and the rest followed exactly... the best i have ever eaten... had 2 already and thinking I better put them away ... thx for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele F.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
These are okay. They weren't sweet enough for my taste (and I had already added extra sugar). They also didn't get very light and fluffy like some other reviewers said they did. They're not bad, just not what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I'm always a little bit wary when all of the reviews for a recipe are 'amazing', but this one was pretty good. I'll probably make it again to go with my tea. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Easy & fast to make, and easy & fast to disappear from the cooling rack also. ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Very good and quick to make! I added in some vanilla just to give them some extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I LOVE these! I make them all the time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I made it with the vanilla soy milk, like one of the other reviews had mentioned and it is delicious! This recipe is definatley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
we didn't really care for these. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very Very easy recipe and the tea biscuits were gone!!!! My co-workers enjoyed them and the most popular comment was 'its not too sweet'. They were very easy to make, thank you for the recipe. Oh i added a teaspoon of almond essence and they came out excellent. I used regualr parkay butter (what i had on hand at the moment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States