Raisin Tea Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
So much better than store-bought! Pretty easy to make so it can be a spur of the minute preparation. Also, most of us have all the ingredients in the pantry. Try them, you'll like them! One thing though…they took quite a bit longer to bake than the time stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is seriously the perfect tea biscuit! I am sitting down right now to a cup of tea and a biscuit fresh out of the oven. DELISH! I did run into one problem. I used lactose free milk and I don't know if that was the issue but I needed to add almost 3/4 cup more milk to the dough. I guess this changed the baking time because they needed an additional 9 minutes.They rose beautifully and I have 8 pretty large sized biscuits and 8 minis. I don't care for raisins so I used cranraisins. I will double the amount next time and maybe some time try chocolate chips. There will be a next time! Thanks Wfdm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
LACKED THE FAMILIAR BEAUTIFUL SCENT THAT WE ALWAYS NOTICE WHEN WE BUY THEM FROM TERMINI BROS BAKERY IN OUR AREA OF PHILADELPHIA. MY HUSBAND DIDN'T LIKE THEM SAID THEY WERE DRY, AND VOID OF FLAVOR. I WAS DISAPPOINTED, BUT WILL TRY AGAIN USING BUTTERMILK, VANILLA, AND A FEW OTHER FLAVORINGS. WILL ALSO LET THEM SET FOR A WHILE BECAUSE OF BAKING POWDER BEFORE BAKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Fabulous! Best ever! Made it decadent by using heavy whipping cream and European butter. It was worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I'm very annoyed with this recipe. I used it to make biscuits for a high tea this afternoon and they turned out horrible. Your ingredient list calls for a cup of hot water but in the directions you don't say to use it. I assume the reason my biscuits are so doughy in the middle is because I didn't use the water. Please correct this so others don't make the same mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
No tea biscuit expert, but these were great! Dough was pretty sticky after adding the raisins but biscuits still turned out good. Did cook them longer - maybe 7 or 8 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
My husband has been a big fan of tea biscuits for years. I haven't been able to buy them since we moved 3 years ago. He found this recipe and asked me to try them. They were easy to make and so good. Definitely a hit! I followed others' recommendations and upped the raisins to 1 cup and the sugar to 1/4 cup. Also let the biscuits rest for 30 minutes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I doubled the sugar and used buttermilk. The biscuits came out buttery and delicious. The texture is on the heavy side though not as light as I hoped for but they are still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These were pretty good. The base dough had just the right amount of sweetness with the 3 Tblsp. of sugar. I was asked to find a recipe for blueberry biscuits. I couldn't find one and so I decided to use this one and add blueberries. I did the same amount of frozen blueberries, as raisins, and soaked them in warm water and dried them on a paper towel. To finish the biscuits, I drizzled them with a glaze: 1 cup confectioners sugar, 1.5 Tblsp. of milk, and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla from another recipe. I got 12 very generous sized biscuits from the recipe. My tweaks were fine, but honestly I think I would have just liked the soaked raisins with a little cinnamon and some powdered sugar on top, as depicted. Mine were a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Saw raisin tea biscuits in store today, and being a baker I hate to pay the price in supermarket. Came home and saw this recipe and read reviews, so I used a cup raisins and 1/4 cup sugar and the rest followed exactly... the best i have ever eaten... had 2 already and thinking I better put them away ... thx for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele F.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States