Raisin Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was very easy to make. My dad asked for sour cream raisin pie like he had when he was a child. So, this is the recipe I decided to try...Hope he likes it!!! I certainly think it tastes delicious but have nothing to compare it to. I did soak the raisins for 5 minutes in boiling water and I used regular pie crust instead of graham cracker crust. I will be making this pie for Christmas gathering this year! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcella
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
If you are a raisin lover, you will surely love this pie! It is simple to make, and the blend of spices is perfect. I made no changes to this recipe when I made it. Although good any time of year, it would be a wonderful accompaniament to the fall and winter holiday meals or entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I've never used sour cream in a raisin pie and I was also skeptical but I needn't have worried. I followed the filling directions as listed but I did plump the raisins first. I also used regular pie dough that I had left over. I made the strusel topping as suggested by another reviwer and it was a great touch. This is going right in my recipe box..thanks for a great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe!!! The only changes I made was that I put it in a regular pie crust (I had an extra) as opposed to using the graham cracker crust, and I made a streusel topping out of 1/3 cup flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, a teaspoon or two of cinnamon and 2 Tb. cold butter. Everyone raved over this...I'll definitely make it again!!! :) Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This was a wonderful pie that reminded me of a raisin pie I used to have as a child around the holidays. I made this along with 4 other holiday pies and the only thing I didn't like was that everyone ate up the raisin pie in just a few hours and I only got one piece! Next time I will make 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCDutcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I'll admit......I was a little leary of the ingredients. They sound like a weird mix. I used fat free sour cream and a reduced calorie pie crust. I had to bake it about 30 min longer though. But this pie was fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This pie is very delicious. This is a great choice for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I never would have thought to mix sour cream and raisins, but this a delicious pie! I'm not real crazy about raisins, so I only put in 3/4 cup, and it was still too much, will try 1/2 cup next time. Also it took longer than 40 minutes to cook, it was closer to an hour, but it was well worth it! My picky son even ate it. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States