Raisin Sour Cream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I have been wanting to make this for a long time and finally did last night. I soooo wish I had read the reviews first, however. I baked them for the 20 minutes the recipe calls for, then left them out overnight to cool. This morning when I went to serve them to my employees at work, it was nothing but raw mush. Great-smelling, but raw. Considering it had eggs in it, we thought it best not to chance it. Next time I'll definitely bake it for the 35-40 minutes others suggested. And I definitely will make it again; smelled too amazing not to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCADAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I was looking for a raisin bar recipe like my grandmothers, came across this one and thought I'd give it a try. It is excellent and I will definitely make it again. I used some of the suggestions from other reviewers and the next time I make these I think this will be the perfect mix: use the full cup of brown sugar, 1 1/4 cups flour, 3/4 cup white sugar and 2 1/2 cups raisins (it definitely needed more than 2 cups). Bake at 350 for 35 mins. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very good! I'd give them about an 8.5. They also freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This bar is absolutely fabulous. I made it with craisins and added 1 tsp of almond extract, 1-2 tsp lime juice and 1-2 tsp grated lime rind to the craisin mix once it was cooked and cooled. I also added some cinnamon to the oatmeal mix. thanks for a marvelous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This surpassed my expectations - I was just trying to use up an excess of sour cream! It was unclear how hot the mixture should get on the stove, so I just heated it a little until well mixed, and I allowed it to bake for 30 minutes, turned out perfect. I don't like over sweet, and this was the perfect sweetness in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Granted they are wonderful but just too sweet for us. Cutting back sugar by 1/2 is fine and could see no appreciable change in the quality of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wonderful!!! I had sour cream and raisins that needed used so stumbled upon this recipe. I did take the advice from the other reviewers and only used 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cup flour and added extra cinnamon to both the filling and crust parts. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yummy! Great way to use up a large amount of raisins or leftover sour cream. I only had one cup of sour cream and it still worked great. The directions don't really tell you what to do with the filling but you need to cook over medium heat for about 10 min, stirring constantly so as not to scramble the eggs. When it's thick, remove from heat. Also, to make it easier to cut and serve, it's best to use about 2/3 of the crumbs on the bottom and the remaining 1/3 over the top. Yummy, old-fashioned recipe that is still good today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Delicious. Recipe needed no changes. Love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Everyone asks for the recipe--it's good for using up raisins that are "less than moist."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States