Raisin Sour Cream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This bar is absolutely fabulous. I made it with craisins and added 1 tsp of almond extract, 1-2 tsp lime juice and 1-2 tsp grated lime rind to the craisin mix once it was cooked and cooled. I also added some cinnamon to the oatmeal mix. thanks for a marvelous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This surpassed my expectations - I was just trying to use up an excess of sour cream! It was unclear how hot the mixture should get on the stove, so I just heated it a little until well mixed, and I allowed it to bake for 30 minutes, turned out perfect. I don't like over sweet, and this was the perfect sweetness in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Granted they are wonderful but just too sweet for us. Cutting back sugar by 1/2 is fine and could see no appreciable change in the quality of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Wonderful!!! I had sour cream and raisins that needed used so stumbled upon this recipe. I did take the advice from the other reviewers and only used 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cup flour and added extra cinnamon to both the filling and crust parts. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Yummy! Great way to use up a large amount of raisins or leftover sour cream. I only had one cup of sour cream and it still worked great. The directions don't really tell you what to do with the filling but you need to cook over medium heat for about 10 min, stirring constantly so as not to scramble the eggs. When it's thick, remove from heat. Also, to make it easier to cut and serve, it's best to use about 2/3 of the crumbs on the bottom and the remaining 1/3 over the top. Yummy, old-fashioned recipe that is still good today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Delicious. Recipe needed no changes. Love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Everyone asks for the recipe--it's good for using up raisins that are "less than moist."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farrell100
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Delish! And Easy! I found this recipe in an attempt to use up some sour cream and raisins I had on hand, and I'm not disappointed. As other reviewers suggested, I cut down to just 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 1/2 cup of flour to cut "too much" sweetness. I also added an extra sprinkle or 2 of cinnamon to both the filling and the crust. Will definitely make again! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farrell100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have never underestimated a recipe as much as I did this one...it was amazing! I was intrigued by the concept, so I knew I had to try to make it, but I never guessed it would actually be so yummy. My bars didn't come out in three distinct layers (they were more blended), but I thought they were perfect just the same. I'm going to give them out at Christmas gifts and I'm sure they'll be a huge hit; thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe, although a little too sweet for us. I halved the recipe (8x8 pan), using two eggs in the filling. Instead of softening the butter, I just put the flour, brown sugar & butter in a food processor, mixed until combined, then added the soda, salt & oats. Came out great. I would reduce the amount of sugar next time, as my family doesn't like overly sweet desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States