Raisin Sauce for Ham II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
It was delicious. But when I first made it, it turned to gel. I had to add another cup of water to thin it out. The cornstarch should be cut in half. When I made it a second time. I used only half the amount of cornstarch the recipe called for and it turned out perfect. Maybe the recipe has a type-o. Maybe she meant to type 2 teaspoons instead of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this twice and it is very good. The second time, I made it a day ahead to save time. Mistake! Once I re-heated the sauce, it was very, very thick and it took a lot of additional water to make it barely acceptable. Still very good, but this sauce should not be served that thick. But this was due to user error. In the future, I will have all of the ingredients ready to go and make it just before the ham is ready to come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Yum! I halved the cornstarch and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used this recipe twice. It is beautiful! Word of warning: the first time I cooked it ahead of time (same day of meal) thinking that when I warmed it up for the meal, that it would look and feel the same...wrong! It was lumpy and kind of gross-looking...I didn't add water as others have done because I was afraid to affect the taste. So I served it lumpy and people still liked it! The second time I prepared it shortly before the meal and kept it warm on the stove and that worked out perfectly. Delicious sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I thought this recipe was awesome. I noticed some reviews thought the sauce was too thick, so I reduced the cornstarch to 1Tbls. I had never had raisin sauce before so I asked my brother-in-law how it was and he said "not thick enough". Must be a personal thing. I think I will make it again just as I did tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Very very good! Instead of using water and the brown sugar, I used the juice from the slow cooker ham recipe on this site. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was tasty and easy to make. I didn't have any lemon juice or rind, so I used orange juice instead. I also skipped the mustard. I wanted it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Quite good, I didn't have any lemon zest so I just left it out and the whole family enjoyed it. Definitely a change from the usual plain ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I really enjoyed this sauce I cooked it in the microwave and would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Loved this recipe! NOTE: Read reviews before cooking-- I had to store in a crock pot to prevent lumps because I made it too early. If I had known it would be so easy make, I'd have started it just before I put the rolls in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen blackwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States