Raisin Sauce for Ham II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I used this recipe twice. It is beautiful! Word of warning: the first time I cooked it ahead of time (same day of meal) thinking that when I warmed it up for the meal, that it would look and feel the same...wrong! It was lumpy and kind of gross-looking...I didn't add water as others have done because I was afraid to affect the taste. So I served it lumpy and people still liked it! The second time I prepared it shortly before the meal and kept it warm on the stove and that worked out perfectly. Delicious sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this last night for company. They raved about it and wanted seconds and the recipe. It improved the taste of the ham 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Been using it for the seniors dining and the fussy ones even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef 3

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gananoque, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Exeter, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
It was ok, but not spetacular. quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was tasty and easy to make. I didn't have any lemon juice or rind, so I used orange juice instead. I also skipped the mustard. I wanted it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Quite good, I didn't have any lemon zest so I just left it out and the whole family enjoyed it. Definitely a change from the usual plain ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is an excellent glaze. Everyone loved the ham. The only change I made was I omitted the raisens. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Very very good! Instead of using water and the brown sugar, I used the juice from the slow cooker ham recipe on this site. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this twice and it is very good. The second time, I made it a day ahead to save time. Mistake! Once I re-heated the sauce, it was very, very thick and it took a lot of additional water to make it barely acceptable. Still very good, but this sauce should not be served that thick. But this was due to user error. In the future, I will have all of the ingredients ready to go and make it just before the ham is ready to come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I thought this recipe was awesome. I noticed some reviews thought the sauce was too thick, so I reduced the cornstarch to 1Tbls. I had never had raisin sauce before so I asked my brother-in-law how it was and he said "not thick enough". Must be a personal thing. I think I will make it again just as I did tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States