Raisin Sauce for Ham II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is very similar to the raisin sauce that my family has always made except we used to add a couple tablespoons of ham drippings also. It's supposed to be thick, like a gel. The second day we warm it and use it as a spread on ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Miller Coon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I have been using this recipe for years, my family wont eat ham without it!!!! I don't use the lemon zest and I use apple cider vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is our family recipe, too. Only mom always added walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very nice. Have used it many times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Really great and on pork chops also!! Everyone loved it. The dry mustard is a must so that it wont be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I used this for a banquet. I had to make it ahead, so the reviews of it being too gelled when made ahead were helpful. So, I cut the cornstarch by half. However, I thought it was too thin after reheating, so I added more corn starch/water slurry and it was great. So, I think you have to play with the thickness, but the taste is great. I was also serving a french toast bake on the banquet, and people commented that they liked the raisin sauce - vinegar and all - on the french toast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I took the suggestion of several of the other reviewers and reduced the corn starch to one Tbs. I fresh grated the lemon zest and just grabbed a good pinch out of that which was probably a little more than 1/4 tsp. Other than that I measured the other ingredients as per the written recipe. Just out of personal preference, after the sauce had boiled for a couple minutes I removed it from the heat and use my immersion blender to pulverize the raisins down into a smoother sauce more to my liking. I boiled the sauce for a few more minutes and then it was ready to serve. The consistency of the sauce was perfect. Not too thick and not runny at all. I think the immersion blender may have brought out more of the raisin flavor into the sauce than I wanted, but otherwise I found this sauce to be excellent served with my baked ham. The next time I make it I will probably substitute out 1/4 cup of the raisins for 1/2 cup crushed pineapple or apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GhöstPepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
ok for what it is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This came out really good. It doesn't reheat well but it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I used this recipe and we all loved it. My hubby always wants raisin sauce when we have ham and I had never found a good recipe until now. I will definitely use it a gain. I did use a little more brown sugar and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States