Raisin Sauce for Ham I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Decrease the amount of sugar a little, use a good quality orange marmalade which shouldn't be very sweet, and add a good splash or two of cabernet savignon! These small changes made for a very easy but memorable sauce to use with left over baked ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was a great base recipe to start from. I must admit I hardly ever follow a recipe exactly. The changes I made: I used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I left out the salt and sugar entirely. I used a shake of cinnamon along with the cloves. It was sweet and spicy and thick. Wonderful over ham or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Thin the corn starch with a little bit of cold water before you add it to the mixture, or else you'll end up with small clumps of corn starch in the finished recipe. Our family thought this recipe was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My mom made this tonight and I didn't care for it at all. It was wayy too sweet for me and didn't really have any good flavor. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is a great sauce. I didn't have marmalade, so I used apricot jam instead. Delicious! Then I put the hot sauce through a sieve so it was a smooth gravy-like sauce. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very nice sauce to complement the salty ham. I had to use red pepper jelly since I didn't have orange marmalade, and I added a squirt of maple syrup. My family all enjoyed it, even the ones who don't like raisins (they just had the sauce without the raisins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I really loved this tangy orangy sauce,I used the blonde rasins and it turned out great.Big flavor and not to orangy the orange is actually pretty subtle,great on ham sandwitches the next day,mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richardjs41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meddybemps, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I would omit the sugar entirely as it is very sweet. I used pineapple juice instead of orange and cinnamon instead of cloves. Absolutely mix the cornstarch with a little water before adding to raisin mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I didn't have cloves so I left that part out of the recipe. I knew better to add the dry mixture to the boiling sauce and it did make clumps so I put everything in the blender and it turned out GREAT. I served it with a pork roast and my roommate couldn't stop eating it. It made a good amount of sauce so now I have some in the fridge and look forward to using it with some pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
was very delicious. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States